Adelaide Cup 2019

Monday March 11, 2019

Ladbrokes Tip: Horses with strong staying form in Melbourne often perform at good Adelaide Cup odds

The Adelaide Cup is one of the traditional Cup races still contested over the two miles (3200m) along with the Sydney Cup in April and the coveted Melbourne Cup held on the first Tuesday of November annually at Flemington Racecourse.

Holding Group 2 status the staying showdown runs at Morphettville Racecourse on the second Monday in March during the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival, the Adelaide Cup date set from 2006 before which it ran in May. Adelaide Cup Day is a public holiday for Labour Day in South Australia.

Offering $400,000 in prize money the race is run under handicap conditions and is often contested by gallopers comping out of the previous Saturday’s Group 3 Lord Reims Stakes (2600m). Inaugurated in 1864 it was originally a weight-for-age event before running as a handicap from 1869 onwards.

The latest edition of the Adelaide Cup runs on Monday March 11, 2019 .

2019 Adelaide Cup Results

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

Adelaide Cup Race Info

  • Date: Monday March 11, 2019
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse
  • Distance: 3200m
  • Conditions: Handicap
  • Status: Group 2
  • Prize Money: $400,000
  • First Run: 1864

2019 Adelaide Cup Results

The season’s full Adelaide Cup 2019 Results & Finishing Order will be detailed below once the staying clash is run and won on Monday March 11, 2019 .

Adelaide Cup Odds & Betting

Adelaide Cup betting markets are often dominated by horses with previous solid form over 2600m and above and stayers coming off a run in the Lord Reims Stakes at the same track feature prominently.

Favourites in the Adelaide Cup odds have a poor recent record with upset results scored by Norsqui ($25 in 2013), Tanby ($15 in 2015) and Purple Smile ($31 in 2016) in the past few years. In 2018 however the favourite in Adelaide Cup betting Fanatic got the job done for the punters.

Horses coming off strong Melbourne form have performed well at good prices in Adelaide Cup betting recently too with 2015 winner Tanby coming off a Moonee Valley fifth over 2500m three weeks before and Purple Smile (2016) backing up off a Moonee Valley fifth before his upset Adelaide Cup result. In 2017 the Adelaide Cup winner Annus Mirabilis improved on a lead-up fifth at Flemington behind Big Memory in the Listed Roy Higgins Quality (2600m), while the next year Fanatic (2018) won the Adelaide Cup after a second in the Roy Higgins.

2019 Adelaide Cup Betting

The latest Adelaide Cup 2019 betting odds will be updated throughout the season with links to our markets to get behind the stayers you best fancy to handle the testing two miles in the Morphettville feature.

Adelaide Cup Field

The Adelaide Cup field is traditionally made up of both local and interstate stayers that have good form over 2400m and above. Top South Australian trainers often represented in the Adelaide Cup field include Tony McEvoy and Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas.

While run over the same distance as the iconic Melbourne Cup, the Adelaide Cup hasn’t proven a good recent guide to the famous Flemington feature with the last horse to secure the Adelaide Cup – Melbourne Cup double being Subzero (1992).

Horses coming out of the Adelaide Cup field often head to New South Wales later in the autumn for a shot at the Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m), a race the 2013 Adelaide Cup winner Norsqui ran a brave second behind Mourayan to.

Adelaide Cup betting odds open at

Purple Smile (2016) won the Adelaide Cup at juicy autumn racing odds of $31. Photo Credit: Jenny Barnes.

2019 Adelaide Cup Field

The official Adelaide Cup 2019 final field and barriers can be found below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Penalty Hcp Rating
1 1160242116 BAROOD Sue Murphy Justin Huxtable (a3/57kg) 7 60kg 84
2 106x35718x MAGNUS KNIGHT Ryan Balfour William Pike 5 57.5kg 79
3 13x14150x DESPATCH Tony McEvoy Barend Vorster 10 57kg 78
4 1919552311 DOMINATION Grant Young Jason Holder 2 56kg 76
5 20x33419x5 FANCY RUMBLE Wayne Francis & Glen Kent Ms Kayla Crowther (a2/50kg) 9 55.5kg 79
6 824x2131x2 QUIDDICK David Tootell Jake Toeroek 4 54kg 72
7 26010×4116 TIARA STAR Will Clarken Jamie Kah 6 54kg 71
8 43x340x121 EVERYDAY LADY Will Clarken Michael Walker 3 54kg 70
9 x296x11238 MUSICAL QUERY Mark Minervini Raquel Clark (a0/53kg) 11 54kg 70
10 86880x795x SANDHILL FLASH Sam Turner Krystal Bishop 8 54kg 70
11 5603807234 DEL PIERO Jarrod McLean Dean Yendall 1 54kg 68

2019 Adelaide Cup Nominations

The early Adelaide Cup 2019 Nominations are taken in early March and will be available below once announced.

Adelaide Cup Tips

Adelaide Cup tips often favour local stayers with proven form at the Morphettville track and those with previous 3200m experience.

Interstate visitors have performed well over the past decade however making the raiders a good Adelaide Cup betting tip for value. The last single figure favourite to salute in the Adelaide Cup was Fanatic in 2018.

2019 Adelaide Cup Tips

Our exclusive Ladbrokes’ tips on the Adelaide Cup 2019 will be available below the week of the race so stay tuned for the stayers to back and sack in the Group 2 this autumn.

Adelaide Cup Form Guide

The Adelaide Cup form guide is a punters’ best friend when it comes to tipping the right horses in the field of stayers in South Australia.

Along with the saddlecloth numbers, starting barriers, jockeys, trainers and weights for each horse in the Adelaide Cup field the form guide also shows the runners with the best form at the track and over the distance.

2019 Adelaide Cup Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Adelaide Cup 2019 Form Guide will be available for punters below the week leading-up to the race.

Adelaide Cup Results

The Adelaide Cup results and finishing order are known on the second Monday in March, Adelaide Cup Day a public holiday in Adelaide. Along with the Adelaide Cup winner the results also reveal the winning quinella, trifecta, first four as well as the margins between each horse over the line.

The last back-to-back Adelaide Cup winner was Our Pompeii (1993-94), while the Adelaide Cup results from 1987-89 were dominated by triple winner Lord Reims who the traditional lead-up race is now named after.

Adelaide Cup Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Fanatic Ormito Poppiholla 3:25.28
2017 Annus Mirabilis Double Bluff Master Of Arts 3:24.25
2016 Purple Smile Tunes Real Love 3:24.19
2015 Tanby Taiyoo Renew 3:25.5
2014 Outback Joe Black Tycoon Base 3:22.0
2013 Norsqui Waratone Dame Claire 3:24.4
2012 Rialya Drunken Sailor Norsqui 3:23.3
2011 Muir Saddler’s Story Macedonian 3:23.4
2010 Capecover Kerdem Itstheone 3:28.8
2009 Zavite Kerdem Banana Man 3:22.7
2008 Lacey Underall Cefalu Tails Of Triomphe 3:22.0
2007 Gallic Lacey Underall Exalted Time 3:20.9
2006 Exalted Time Tubular Bells Ista Kareem 3:25.1
2005 Demerger Envoy Intriguing 3:21.9
2004 Pantani Danestorm Bel Air 3:27.5
2003 Pilage N Plunder Nautilism Odysseus 3:28.4
2002 The A Train Homewrecker Silver Baron 3:29.3
2001 Apache King Native Jazz Bel Air 3:29.7
2000 Bohemiath Karasi Oxford Dollar 3:24.6