Brownlow Medal 2022

Port Adelaide’s Ollie Wines secured the 2021 Brownlow Medal with a record-equaling 36 votes.

The AFL Brownlow Medal is awarded to the player deemed the “fairest and best” across the annual AFL Premiership season.

Formerly known as the Charles Brownlow Trophy, the coveted Australian Football League award is unofficially called the “Charlie” and is determined by votes cast by official field umpires at the end of all games across the 23 week home-and-away season of AFL Fixtures.

Named in honour of former champion Geelong Football Club player, club secretary and Victorian Football League (VFL) president Charles Brownlow (1861 – 1924) the Brownlow Medallist is announced during an elaborate award ceremony in Melbourne five days out from the season’s AFL Grand Final.

AFL Brownlow Medal Odds

The AFL Brownlow Medal is awarded to the “best and fairest” player each season.

2022 Brownlow Medal Betting

The Brownlow Medal 2022 will be awarded to the fairest and best player in the AFL next season and betting on who will take out the coveted prize is already open! Each year the Brownlow Medal is handed out at a prestigious AFL awards ceremony at the end of the season. Across the AFL home-and-away season votes come in by officiating field umpires at the end of each match and the individual player that collets the most votes becomes the year’s Brownlow Medallist.

Brownlow Medal betting markets on which individual player will take out ‘Charlie’ isn’t necessarily a player from a team highest up the AFL ladder in line to collect the trophy.

AFL Brownlow Medal Odds & Market Update

Odds on the AFL season’s Brownlow Medal winner make up some of the most popular Australian Rules betting markets. Even before the current season kicks-off Brownlow Medal betting listing the price on all major players to win is open including the 2022 Brownlow Medal Winner.

As with our online Horse Racing Betting there is exclusive Ladbrokes Favourite v Field odds on the Brownlow with the season’s current shortest-priced player to win up against all other players listed in betting.

Another exotic Brownlow Medal market is the Nothing Sweeter Than A Repeater listing odds on either a New Brownlow Medalist or a Repeat Brownlow Medalist.

2022 Brownlow Medal Odds

The odds for the next season’s Brownlow Medal will be updated each round as the season rolls along.

Player Odds*
Lachie Neale $4.00
Patrick Cripps $4.00
Clayton Oliver $5.50
Christian Petracca $6.00
Andrew Brayshaw $10.00

*All-in Top 5 Brownlow Medal odds correct as of 26/05/2022 and are subject to change 

AFL Brownlow Medal Records

Player Records

  • Most Brownlow Medals: 3 – Haydn Bunton Sr. (Fitzroy), Dick Reynolds (Essendon), Bob Skilton (South Melbourne), Ian Stewart (St Kilda/Richmond)
  • Most Brownlow Medal Career Votes: 248 – Ablett Junior (Geelong / Gold Coast)
  • Most Brownlow Medal Season Votes: 59 – Graham Teasdale (1977)
  • Youngest Brownlow Medal Winner: 19 years – Dick Reynolds (Essendon)
  • Oldest Brownlow Medal Winner: 31 years – Barry Round (South Melbourne)

Team Records

  • Most Brownlow Medals:, 14 – South Melbourne / Sydney (1940, 1949, 1955, 1959, 1963, 1968, 1970, 1977, 1981, 1986, 1988, 1995, 2003, 2006)

AFL Brownlow Medal Winners

Year Player Club No. of Votes
2000 Shane Woewodin Melbourne 24
2001 Jason Akermanis Brisbane Lions 23
2002 Simon Black Brisbane Lions 25
2003 Mark Ricciuto Adelaide 22
2003 Nathan Buckley Collingwood 22
2003 Adam Goodes Sydney 22
2004 Chris Judd West Coast 30
2005 Ben Cousins West Coast 20
2006 Adam Goodes Sydney 26
2007 Jimmy Bartel Geelong 29
2008 Adam Cooney Western Bulldogs 24
2009 Gary Ablett Jr Geelong 30
2010 Chris Judd Carlton 30
2011 Dane Swan Collingwood 34
2012 Trent Cotchin & Sam Mitchell Richmond & Hawthorn 26
2013 Gary Ablett Jr Gold Coast 28
2014 Matt Priddis West Coast 26
2015 Nathan Fyfe Fremantle 31
2016 Patrick Dangerfield Geelong 35
2017 Dustin Martin Richmond 36
2018 Tom Mitchell Hawthorn 28
2019 Nat Fyfe Fremantle 33
2020 Lachie Neale Brisbane 31
2021 Ollie Wines Port Adelaide 36