Bendigo Cup 2021

Wednesday October 27th, 2021

Ladbrokes Tip: The Bendigo Cup form often stacks up in the Melbourne Cup field

The Bendigo Cup is a Group 3 feature for stayers held  on a Wednesday in late October days before Flemington hosts its time-honoured Victoria Derby Day program the annual Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

The Bendigo Cup field features stayers possibly coming out Caulfield’s Group 3 Coongy Cup (2000m) race on Thousand Guineas Day and that are heading towards the iconic Group 1 Melbourne Cup (3200m) run over the two miles at Flemington on the first Tuesday of November.

Run at Bendigo Racecourse over 2400m the open handicap offers prize money of $400,000 and runs the Wednesday after Cox Plate Day, which is officially a public holiday in the city of Bendigo.

The race has been run and won since right back in 1868 and has held Group 3 status since 2015.

This year the Bendigo Cup runs on Wednesday October 27th, 2021.  

2021 Bendigo Cup Results

The official Bendigo Cup 2021 Results & Finishing Order will be published below once the race takes place on Wednesday October 27th, 2021.

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

Bendigo Cup Race Info

  • Date: Wednesday October 27th, 2021
  • Track: Bendigo Racecourse
  • Distance: 2400m
  • Conditions: Handicap
  • Status: Group 3
  • Prize Money: $400,000
  • First Run: 1868

Bendigo Cup Betting

Bendigo Cup betting is traditionally led by stayers with form over the distance who are heading into the Melbourne Cup. Internationals have featured prominently in the Bendigo Cup odds since the back-to-back wins by the Charlie Appleby-trained English raiders Francis Of Assisi (2016) and Qewy (2017).

Favourites in Bendigo Cup betting have a poor recent record with the last to win being Sertorius ($3.80 in 2013). Since then plenty of Bendigo Cup winners have saluted at big odds including Red Alto ($71 in 2018) and Princess Jenni ($26 in 2021).

2021 Bendigo Cup Odds

The season’s updated Bendigo Cup 2021 odds and links to our markets on the key Melbourne Cup form race will be detailed below over the spring so stay tuned for the best Bendigo Cup betting offers.

Bendigo Cup Tips

Bendigo Cup betting tips favour proven stayers with solid lead-up form in races like the Coongy Cup and any Group 1 performers down in grade chasing a shot at the Melbourne Cup.

Other Bendigo Cup tips include looking for international raiders in the mix, those getting in on a good weight and any past performers at the track from previous seasons.

2021 Bendigo Cup Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Bendigo Cup 2021 betting tips and exotic selections will be detailed in full below the week of the race so bookmark this page for the stayers to back and sack in the important spring event.

Bendigo Cup Field

The Bendigo Cup field is released two days before the race runs on Bendigo Cup Day that Wednesday, which is a public holiday in the city, with nominations closing the Thursday prior.

A host of the season’s better staying types, both locally-trained and interstate raiders, feature in the final Bendigo Cup acceptances for the mile and a half handicap.

2021 Bendigo Cup Field

The official Bendigo Cup 2021 Final Field & Barriers will be announced on the Monday of race week and detailed in full below so stay tuned to see what spring stayers make the starting line-up on way to the Melbourne Cup.

Bendigo Cup Form Guide

The Bendigo Cup form guide has all the basic information like the trainers and jockeys of all the runners plus extra details like the lead-up runs, weight and barriers for each starter.

Looking for a well-weighted runner that comes out of a lead-up race like the Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m) on the Bendigo Cup form guide is important, as is seeking out the in-form international visitors heading towards the Melbourne Cup field.

The Bendigo Cup form has gone on to stack-up in similar or better grade races a number of times including in 2016 with the English-trained winner Francis Of Assisi went on to win Flemington’s Group 3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2600m) by a runaway 10 lengths after being balloted out of that year’s Melbourne Cup field.

Puissance De Lune (2012) is another recent runner to complete the Bendigo Cup – Queen Elizabeth Stakes double.

2021 Bendigo Cup Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Bendigo Cup 2021 Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

Bendigo Cup Results

The Bendigo Cup results show the winner and exact finishing order of all the runners plus the winning time and margin, and starting price of all the horses.

It can also reveal the value in the upcoming Melbourne Cup betting markets heading into November’s famous Flemington showdown.

Notable recent Bendigo Cup winners include: Tanby (2011), The Offer (2015), Francis Of Assisi (2016) and Qewy (2017).

Bendigo Cup Winners

2020Princess JenniDavid BrideoakeJye McNeil2:29.32
2019Top Of The RangeMichael MoroneyWilliam Pike2:27.41
2018Red AltoBrent StanleyMichael Walker2:28.51
2017QewyCharlie ApplebyKerrin McEvoy2:27.50
2016Francis Of AssisiCharlie ApplebyKerrin McEvoy2:28.36
2015The OfferGai WaterhouseMichael Walker2:28.51
2014Bring SomethingKen KeysLuke Nolen2:29.43
2013SertoriusBruce ElkingtonRyan Maloney2:30.79
2012Puissance De LuneDarren WeirGlen Boss2:27.97
2011TanbyRobert HickmottSteven King2:28.72
2010Dream PedlarTroy BlackerCraig Williams2:18.22
2009ZupacoolJohn Symons & Sheila LaxonLuke Nolen2:15.00
2008Banana ManMichael KentMichelle Payne2:28.85
2007CaptiousMick PriceCraig Newitt2:31.93
2006GallicGraeme RogersonSteven Arnold2:31.93
2005True CourserDarren WeirPeter Mertens2:30.32
2004GallicGraeme RogersonDanny Nikolic2:32.56
2003Western WatersSydney CatherallWayne Hokai2:28.31
2002ForlornaSheila LaxonJohn Didham2:31.35
2001SaboteurDavid HallLuke Currie2:28.30
2000YammerTony NoonanNash Rawiller2:34.45
1999Majestic AvenueRussell CameronCraig Williams2:28.33