Big Bash League 2018/19

The Big Bash League (BBL) is an annual cricket tournament held down under each December – January giving punters something to look forward to on those hot summer nights.

It is an Australian domestic Twenty20 cricket competition currently sponsored by KFC, and the T20 format means all Big Bash games played give each of the two teams a single innings, which is restricted to a max of 20 overs. Cricket Australia introduced the current Big Bash T20 tournament for the 2011-12 season, with eight BBL Teams facing off in the round-robin format during December and January.


  • Big Bash Final Results: Adelaide Strikers defeated Hobart Hurricanes
  • Big Bash Final Score: Strikers 2/202 (20 overs) – Hurricanes 5/177 (20 overs)
  • 2017/18 Big Bash Champions: Adelaide Strikers won by 25 runs
  • Dates: December 19, 2018 – February 4, 2019
  • Season: 8th
  • Sponsor: KFC

Click here for the full 2018/19 Big Bash League Fixtures


Team Home Ground Captain Coach
Adelaide Strikers Adelaide Oval Travis Head Jason Gillespie
Brisbane Heat The Gabba Brendon McCullum Daniel Vettori
Hobart Hurricanes Blundstone Arena George Bailey Gary Kirsten
Melbourne Renegades Etihad Stadium Aaron Finch David Saker
Melbourne Stars Melbourne Cricket Ground David Hussey Stephen Fleming
Perth Scorchers The WACA Adam Voges Justin Langer
Sydney Sixers Sydney Cricket Ground Moises Henriques Greg Shipperd
Sydney Thunder Spotless Stadium Shane Watson Paddy Upton

The current Big Bash League Teams in the competition are the:

  • Adelaide Strikers
  • Brisbane Heat
  • Hobart Hurricanes
  • Melbourne Renegades
  • Melbourne Stars
  • Perth Scorchers
  • Sydney Sixers
  • Sydney Thunder

Five of these teams have won a Big Bash title, while the sole three-time BBL winning team is the Perth Scorchers (2013-14, 2014-15, 2016-17).

big bash league odds

The BBL is one of the fastest growing compeitions in the country. Photo credit: Sports24Hour

Each BBL team plays each other at least once over the series and they are also all assigned a set “rival” they will play for a second time over the season. Traditional Big Bash League rivals include the two same-city clubs such as the Melbourne Renegades and Melbourne Stars, which means the Twenty20 BBL tournament can host two Melbourne derbies and two Sydney derbies over the season.

There are eight Big Bash rounds during the group stage match, with four cricket matches played per round. Every BBL team plays eight group stage matches getting the home ground advantage four times and playing away four times.

For the 2017-18 Big Bash League the number of regular season games rose from 32 to 40, changing the number of home games for each team to five.

The Top 4 ranked teams on the BBL Ladder at the end of this group round then progress onto the tournament’s knock-out Semi-Finals. The Big Bash League Final is contested at the highest-ranked team’s home ground.

Big Bash betting on the group stage matches and three T20 finals is big business in the summer months, with futures cricket odds also open on the tournament months in advance.

Big Bash Records

While the current BBL tournament has only been around since 2011-12, there have been some notable cricket records set within that time. Michael Klinger (Strikers, Scorchers) holds the Big Bash batting record of most runs with 1,802. In the Big Bash bowling records it is Ben Laughlin with the most wickets (84).

Other Big Bash League records to consider when placing your cricket bets on the next tournament can be viewed in the tables below.

Big Bash League Batting Records

Title Player Record
Most Runs Michael Klinger 1,802
Highest Individual Score D’arcy Short 122 vs Brisbane Heat (2017-18)
Best Strike Rate Andre Russell 166.29 (2014-2017)
Most Sixes Chris Lynn 102

Big Bash League Bowling Records

Title Player Record
Most Wickets Ben Laughlin 85
Lowest Average Rashid Khan 13.83
Best Strike Rate Yasir Arafat 13.6
Best Economy Rate MG Johnson 0.75
Best Bowling Figures Lasith Malinga 6/7 vs Perth Scorchers (12 December 2012)

Big Bash League Fielding Records

Title Player Record
Most Dismissals (Wicket-Keeper) TP Ludeman 33
Most Catches (Fielder) GJ Maxwell 29

Big Bash League Team Records

Title Team Record
Highest Total Hobart Hurricanes 223-8 (20) vs Melbourne Renegades (12 January 2017)
Lowest Total Melbourne Renegades 57 (12.4) vs Melbourne Stars (3 January 2015)
Team Span Matches Won Lost Tied & Won Tied & Lost No Result Win% Titles
Adelaide Strikers 2011–2018 59 31 26 0 0 2 54.38 1
Brisbane Heat 2011–2018 60 26 33 0 1 0 44.16 1
Hobart Hurricanes 2011–2018 61 28 32 0 0 1 46.66 0
Melbourne Renegades 2011–2018 58 28 30 0 0 0 48.27 1
Melbourne Stars 2011–2018 64 33 30 1 0 0 52.34 0
Perth Scorchers 2011–2018 69 45 23 1 0 0 65.94 3
Sydney Sixers 2011–2018 64 33 28 1 2 0 53.90 1
Sydney Thunder 2011–2018 59 18 40 0 0 1 31.03 1

*Records correct as of February 6, 2018.

Big Bash Finals

The Big Bash League runs over the summer each season down under and comes to a thrilling conclusion with the BBL Finals in late January. After 32 Big Bash games are played by the eight teams in the domestic Twenty20 competition during the group stage that is divided into eight BBL rounds, the Big Bash League finals feature three knock-out matches.

Where the BBL teams finish on the Big Bash Ladder at the end of these opening eight rounds, which each feature four BBL matches, determines whether they press onto a finals bid that season. Teams are awarded two points for a win and the squad with the most points sits top of the table moving onto the finals with the other three highest-ranked teams.

The five teams last in the cricket standings at this point are knocked out of the competition. The highest-ranked team playing in the Big Bash League Final has the home ground advantage.

Big Bash betting is open months in advance on exactly which teams will make it to the BBL semi-finals and which club will come up trumps and take out the championship title.

The most successful of the Big Bash teams to date reaching the final of the tournament in six of the seven seasons played from 2011 – 2018 is the Perth Scorchers who enjoyed their third championship in the 2016-17 Big Bash.  Of the five teams to win a BBL competition, the Scorchers are the most successful winning back-to-back T20 Big Bash finals in 2013-14, 2014-15 and taking it out again in 2016-17 . Their home ground – WACA Ground – has hosted the Big Bash Final four times, which is more than any other cricket venue.

Big Bash Finals draw record crowds and there is the incentive of extra prize money allocated by Cricket Australia for those BBL teams to make it to the semis. The BBL Champions also are awarded $450,000 in prize money for the season. The 2017-18 Big Bash Final at Adelaide Oval drew a crowd of 40,732.

Big Bash Finals Results

Season Final Winner Result Runner-Up Final Host Final Venue
2011–12 Sydney Sixers Sixers won by 7 wickets Perth Scorchers Perth Scorchers WACA Ground
2012–13 Brisbane Heat Heat won by 34 runs Perth Scorchers Perth Scorchers WACA Ground
2013–14 Perth Scorchers Scorchers won by 39 runs Hobart Hurricanes Perth Scorchers WACA Ground
2014–15 Perth Scorchers Scorchers won by 4 wickets Sydney Sixers Neutral Venue Manuka Oval
2015–16 Sydney Thunder Thunder won by 3 wickets Melbourne Stars Melbourne Stars Melbourne Cricket Ground
2016–17 Perth Scorchers Scorchers won by  9 wickets Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers WACA Ground
2017–18 Adelaide Strikers Strikers won by 25 runs Hobart Hurricanes Adelaide Strikers Adelaide Oval
2018-19 Melbourne Renegades Renegades won by 13 runs Melbourne Stars Melbourne Stars Marvel Stadium