Big Bash League Finals 2017/18

The Big Bash League runs over the summer each season down under and comes to a thrilling conclusion with the BBL Finals in late January or early February. After 40 Big Bash games are played by the eight teams in the domestic Twenty20 competition during the group stage that is divided into eight BBL rounds, the Big Bash League finals feature three knock-out matches.

Where the BBL teams finish on the Big Bash Ladder at the end of these opening eight rounds, which each feature four BBL matches, determines whether they press onto a finals bid that season during the Knockout Phase. Teams are awarded two points for a win and the squad with the most points sits top of the table moving onto the finals with the other three highest-ranked teams.

The five teams last in the cricket standings at this point are knocked out of the competition. The highest-ranked team playing in the Big Bash League Final has the home ground advantage.

Big Bash betting is open months in advance on exactly which teams will make it to the BBL semi-finals and which club will come up trumps and take out the championship title.

2018/19 Big Bash Final Result

  • Big Bash Champions: TBD
  • Runners-Up: TBD
  • Result: TBD
  • Score: TBD
  • Date: February 4, 2019
  • Venue: TBD
  • Attendance: TBD
  • Player of the Match: TBD


Big Bash League Finals System

The BBL Finals are also known as the Knockout Phase of the season and feature the Big Bash Semi-Finals and the Big Bash Final.

Big Bash Semi Finals

  • Semi Final 1: 4th vs 1st
  • Semi Final 2: 2nd vs 3rd

The BBL semi-finals feature two games played between the top four teams on the ladder. The two semi finals winners progress onto the Big Bash League Final to decide the Champions of the season. The first and second ranked teams get home ground advantage in the Big Bash League Semi Finals.

Big Bash Final

  • Winner of Semi Final 1 plays Semi Final 2 Winner: BBL Championship decided

Big Bash League Finals Results

Big Bash League Finals betting at Ladbrokes

The Perth Scorchers with three Big Bash League Final wins are the most successful BBL team in the competition. Photo Credit: Ray Strange.

The most successful of the Big Bash teams to date reaching the final of the tournament in five of the seven seasons played from 2011 – 2018 is the Perth Scorchers who enjoyed their third championship in the 2016-17 Big Bash.  Of the five teams to win a BBL competition, the Scorchers are the most successful winning back-to-back T20 Big Bash finals in 2013-14, 2014-15 and taking it out again in 2016-17 . Their home ground – WACA Ground – has hosted the Big Bash Final four times, which is more than any other cricket venue.

Big Bash Finals draw record crowds and there is the incentive of extra prize money allocated by Cricket Australia for those BBL teams to make it to the semis. The BBL Champions also are awarded $450,000 in prize money for the season.

Big Bash Finals: League Champions

Season Final Winner Result Runner-Up Final Host Final Venue
2011–12 Sydney Sixers Sixers won by 7 wickets Perth Scorchers Perth Scorchers WACA Ground
2012–13 Brisbane Heat Heat won by 34 runs Perth Scorchers Perth Scorchers WACA Ground
2013–14 Perth Scorchers Scorchers won by 39 runs Hobart Hurricanes Perth Scorchers WACA Ground
2014–15 Perth Scorchers Scorchers won by 4 wickets Sydney Sixers Neutral Venue Manuka Oval
2015–16 Sydney Thunder Thunder won by 3 wickets Melbourne Stars Melbourne Stars Melbourne Cricket Ground
2016–17 Perth Scorchers Scorchers won by  9 wickets Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers WACA Ground
2017–18 Adelaide Strikers Strikers won by 25 runs Hobart Hurricanes Adelaide Strikers Adelaide Oval