Big Bash League Ladder

The KFC Big Bash Ladder – also known as the BBL Points Table – is the official list of rankings for the eight BBL teams contesting the annual summer cricket tournament in Australia during December – January / February.Big Bash League Ladder

The Twenty20 round-robin formatted domestic cricket comp is one of the most popular down under every year and the BBL ladder determines which of the teams in the league continue through to the finals and fight for the championship title.

The ladder lists the Big Bash League teams in order from 1 – 8 and is updated round-by-round after the BBL results for the week. Those highest on the table have the most wins, each win earning a team two competition points, while those at the bottom of the BBL rankings have suffered the most losses during the series.

Big Bash League Ladder

The BBL Ladder shows the cricket standings on the eight Big Bash teams over the season. Photo Credit: BBL.

Checking the Big Bash League standings throughout the season shows how your team is tracking towards the Big Bash Finals and the ladder also impacts the BBL betting markets. The Big Bash ladder lists the ranking order, BBL teams, games played, wins, losses, draws, the net run rate (NET RR) and total competition points.

There is also a ‘Minor-Premiership’ title up for grabs in the BBL each season won by the team sitting top of the Big Bash ladder at the end of the group round that runs over eight weeks.

The Perth Scorchers are the only team to  have finished on top of the BBL ladder three times: 2011-12, 2016-17 and 2017-18. Perth are also one of only two teams to finish top of the table and also win the Big Bash Final in a single season with their 2016-17 success along with the Sydney Sixers in 2020-21.

The ‘Wooden Spoon’ is also unofficially handed out to the Big Bash team that sits in eighth spot on the ladder before the finals. The club to finish bottom of the ladder more than any other since the BBL was inaugurated in 2011 is the Sydney Thunder who collected the Wooden Spoon in 2011-12, 2012-13, 2013-14 and again in 2016-17.

The Brisbane Heat finished top of the BBL|13 ladder and went on to win the 2023-24 Big Bash League final against the Sydney Sixers for their 2nd title.

Big Bash Ladder 2023-24

See where your BBL|13 teams sits on the 2023-24 Big Bash League ladder below!

Pos Team Pld W L NR Pts NRR Qualification
1   Brisbane Heat 10 7 1 2 16 0.972 Advance to Qualifier
2   Sydney Sixers 10 6 2 2 14 0.339
3   Perth Scorchers 10 6 3 1 13 0.725 Advance to Knockout
4   Adelaide Strikers 10 5 4 1 11 0.331
5   Hobart Hurricanes 10 4 6 0 8 −0.268
6   Melbourne Stars 10 4 6 0 8 −1.051
7   Melbourne Renegades 10 2 6 2 6 −0.289
8   Sydney Thunder 10 1 7 2 4 −0.652

*BBL|13 Rankings updated to end of Regular Season. Table Credit: ESPNcricinfo 

  • Pos: Position
  • Pld: Played
  • W: Won
  • L: Lost
  • T: Tied
  • NR: No Result
  • Pts: Points
  • NRR: Net Run Rate

Note: Teams ranked (1 – 5) at end of regular season advance to the BBL Playoff phase