Bill Stutt Stakes 2019

Friday September 27, 2019

Ladbrokes Tip: The Stutt Stakes makes a nice Ladbrokes Caulfield Guineas betting guide each spring

The Bill Stutt Stakes is a Group 2 race for three-year-olds held under the lights at Moonee Valley Racecourse in late September / early October on Moir Stakes Night during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

The meeting’s feature race is the Group 1 AJ Moir Stakes (1000m), while the Bill Stutt Stakes is the key support act on the card along with the Group 2 Stocks Stakes (1600m) for the mares. The Stutt Stakes is also run over the mile (1600m) and is a set weights race offering $200,000 in total prize money.

Over the years the Stutt Stakes has made a nice guide to the Group 1 Ladbrokes Caulfield Guineas (1600m) held later in October and the last horse to complete the double was Whobegotyou (2008).

The latest edition of the Bill Stutt Stakes takes place on Friday September 27, 2019 .

Stutt Stakes Race Info

  • Date: Friday September 27, 2019
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse
  • Distance: 1600m
  • Conditions: 3YOs – Set Weights
  • Status: Group 2
  • Prize Money: $200,000
  • First Run: 1934

Bill Stutt Stakes Betting

Stutt Stakes odds are led by in-form three-year-olds with good lead-up form in similar company that have proven ability over the mile.

The Moonee Valley track is a notoriously tight circuit so previous runs at the course by a runner will also see them sit higher up the Stutt Stakes betting markets. Stutt Stakes betting favourites have a gun record in the race over the past two decades including the 2017 success of Showtime ($3.70).

2019 Stutt Stakes Odds

The season’s latest Bill Stutt Stakes 2019 betting odds and links to our markets will be available right here the week of the race so stay tuned for the top Moonee Valley racing odds this spring.

Bill Stutt Stakes Field

The Stutt Stakes field attracts the season’s most promising three-year-old milers and youngsters looking to step out over more distance later in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Horses in the mix usually come off a lead-up Melbourne run and the Listed Exford Plate (1400m) at Flemington a fortnight before has produced a number of Stutt Stakes winners in recent years including Sovereign Nation (7th in 2015) and Showtime (5th in 2017). Graduates out of the Stutt Stakes field are often heading towards the Caulfield Guineas over the same distance and in 2015 the Stutt Stakes winner Sovereign Nation ran fourth in the Group 1 to Press Statement. The year before the 2014 Stutt Stakes third placed Kumaon also ran fourth in the Guineas next start.

Bill Stutt Stakes odds online -

Whobegotyou (2008) was the last horse to complete the Stutt Stakes – Caulfield Guineas double. Photo Credit: Taron Clarke.

In 2013 Stutt Stakes winner Divine Calling ran second next time out in the Caulfield Guineas, while the runner-up in the Group 2 that year Shamus Award ran third in the Guineas before success in the Group 1 Cox Plate (2040m) later that campaign.

Pierro meanwhile won the 2012 Stutt Stakes before a Caulfield Guineas second and Cox Plate third, while Whobegotyou (2008) was the last winner of the Stutt Stakes – Caulfield Guineas double.

The Bill Stutt Stakes nominations close the Monday before the race runs on the Friday night with the final field and barriers released on the Wednesday.

2019 Stutt Stakes Field

The official Bill Stutt Stakes 2019 final field & barrier draw will be released the Wednesday of race week and published in full below so stay tuned to see what middle-distance three-year-olds line-up in the Moonee Valley Group 2.

2019 Stutt Stakes Nominations

The Bill Stutt Stakes 2019 nominations are due out on Monday September 25 and feature the likes of Anthony Freedman’s three-year old Declarationofheart and Darren Weir favourite Leonardo da Hinchi.

No. Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Penalty Hcp Rating
1 x21035x764 OUTRAGEOUS C 3 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 1 57kg 77
2 5108×00 NOT A SINGLE CENT C 3 Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 2 57kg 74
3 211×3 GOOD ’N’ FAST C 3 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 3 57kg 75
4 512×32 MUSWELLBROOK G 3 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 4 57kg 70
5 6×3711315 UNFAIR DISMISSAL C 3 Tony McEvoy 5 57kg 72
6 7117 VISAO C 3 Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 6 57kg 69
7 12142 THORONDOR C 3 Robbie Laing 7 57kg 76
8 1132 LEONARDO DA HINCHI C 3 Darren Weir 8 57kg 72
9 1x45x19 FAROOQ C 3 Tony McEvoy 9 57kg 66
10 1×14 DECLARATIONOFHEART C 3 Anthony Freedman 10 57kg 68
11 259×1 MICKEY BLUE EYES C 3 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 11 57kg 64
12 137×1 REAL SUCCESS G 3 Matt Laurie 12 57kg 67
13 184 SAVVY OAK (NZ) G 3 Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 13 57kg 63
14 232 DESIGN ROUGE C 3 Ciaron Maher & David Eustace 14 57kg 60
15 545×39 GREEN IVY G 3 Ken Keys 15 57kg 60
16 32×000 POWER OF ATTORNEY C 3 Tony Vasil 16 57kg 59
17 832 MARK THE HORSE e G 3 Michelle Payne 17 57kg 60
18 78×64 STARS OF CARRUM C 3 Robbie Laing 18 57kg 52

Bill Stutt Stakes Tips

Good Bill Stutt Stakes tips include looking for graduates out of earlier Melbourne spring runs over at least 1400m, runners with previous form at the Moonee Valley track and backing the favourites. The last double-figure Stutt Stakes winner was Sarson Trail back in 2000, making laying the favourite a risky Stutt Stakes tip.

2019 Stutt Stakes Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Bill Stutt Stakes 2019 betting tips and exotic Moonee Valley night racing selections will be detailed below the week of the race so bookmark this page to see the three-year-olds to back and sack in the race.

Bill Stutt Stakes Form Guide

The Stutt Stakes form guide features all the must-know info for punters from the jockeys and trainers to the barriers and lead-up runs of the horses in the field. The Stutt Stakes form has also stacked up in Group 1 races later in the spring over the years including in 2013 when the runner-up Shamus Award won the Cox Plate two runs later.

Another later Melbourne class the Stutt Stakes form has held up in recently is the Group 1 Victoria Derby (2500m) at Flemington, a staying classic the 2008 Stutt Stakes – Caulfield Guineas champ Whobegotyou ran second in that spring.

Bill Stutt Stakes Results

Favourites have dominated the Stutt Stakes results over the past 20 years with the class three-year-old usually saluting for the punters including Showtime (2017).

Notable recent Bill Stutt Stakes winners include Almalad (2014), Pierro (2012), Whobegotyou (2008), Red Dazzler (2005) and Viscount (2011).

2019 Bill Stutt Stakes Results

The official Bill Stutt Stakes 2019 results & race finishing order will be detailed below once the race takes place on Friday September 27, 2019 .

Bill Stutt Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Showtime Salsamor Holy Snow 1:37.1
2016 Hey Doc Land Of Plenty Kaching 1:37.4
2015 Sovereign Nation Get The Picture Gredington 1:36.1
2014 Almalad Moonovermanhattan Kumaon 1:38.8
2013 Divine Calling Shamus Award Cluster 1:37.2
2012 Pierro Carringbush Jack Jimando 1:36.3
2011 Chase The Rainbow Cute Emily Sabrage 1:38.3
2010 Hollowlea Run For Levi Bullbars 1:37.2
2009 Carrara Extra Hero Miss With Attitude 1:39.5
2008 Whobegotyou All American Carnero 1:36.3
2007 Barbaricus Davcon Cecconi 1:36.0
2006 Churchill Downs Magic Jet Ankh Morpork 1:36.7
2005 Red Dazzler Stratum Maybe Better 1:38.0
2004 Mr Martini Under Command Danaurum 1:37.8
2003 Casual Pass Special Harmony Face Value 1:37.2
2002 Helenus Aint Here Half Hennessy 1:39.6
2001 Viscount Dash For Cash Amalfi 1:38.1
2000 Sarson Trail Keeper Make Me A Miracle 1:38.7