BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup 2022

Saturday May 28th, 2022

The BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup is a Group 3 race held in late May during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

Open to horses aged three-years-old and above, the set weights plus penalties event runs over 1800m and offers $150,000 in prize money.

The Lord Mayor’s Cup takes place on Queensland Derby Day, which is headlined by the Group 1 Queensland Derby (2400m) for three-year-old stayers and weight-for-age Group 1 Kingsford-Smith Cup (1300m).

Also on the Derby Day card at Eagle Farm Racecourse are the Group 2 BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes (1400m) now worth $1 million, the Group 3 Fred Best Classic (1400m) and the Group 3 Premier’s Cup (2400m).

Previously run over 1600m as a weight-for-age race, the Lord Mayor’s Cup distance increased to 1800m in 2021 and the conditions changed to set weights plus penalties.

Inaugurated in 1956 as the BATC Labour Day Cup, the event has been known as the Lord Mayor’s Cup since 2005 and gained Group 3 status in 2000.

The Lord Mayor’s Cup now serves as a key lead-up into the Group 2 $1.2 million The Q22 (2200m) held on Stradbroke Handicap Day.

The latest edition of the Lord Mayor’s Cup (BRC) took place on 2022 at Eagle Farm Racecourse and was won in outstanding fashion by the Chris Waller-trained Bigboyroy ($4).

2022 Lord Mayor’s Cup Results

  • 1st: #7 Bigboyroy ($4)
  • 2nd: #5 Ballistic Boy
  • 3rd: #1 Kolding

The Chris Waller-trained Bigboyroy ($4) produced a blinder, getting to the front and having an easy time in the lead to defeat Ballistic Boy and Kolding in an exciting performance in the BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup 2022 results.

The official BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup results & finishing order for the 2022 edition of the race will be published here as soon as the race takes place on Saturday May 28th, 2022.

Lord Mayor’s Cup (BRC) Race Info

  • Date: Saturday May 28th, 2022
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse
  • Distance: 1800m
  • Conditions: 3YOs & Upwards – Set Weights + Penalties
  • Status: Group 3
  • Prize Money: $150,000
  • First Run: 1956

BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup Betting

BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup betting markets favour in-form staying types from local Brisbane or Sydney stables coming off a good lead-up run over the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

Horses that ran well in the Listed Member’s Handicap (1600m) at Doomben a fortnight earlier usually sit at shorter Lord Mayor’s Cup odds.

Bigboyroy (3rd in 2022) was the last BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup winner to come off a lead-up run in the Member’s Handicap.

Older gallopers, especially five and six-year-old horses, traditionally dominate Lord Mayor’s Cup betting with the last three-year-old to win being Rothesay (2010).

2022 Lord Mayor’s Cup Odds

The season’s official BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup 2022 betting odds will be available on the hopeful stayers right here the week of the race so stay tuned for access to the best Brisbane racing odds.

Early market betting odds on the 2022 Lord Mayor's Cup (BRC) will be displayed below once available. Odds are subject to fluctuation. For current odds on all of our live markets, please visit

BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup Field

The BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup field features a line-up of quality staying types from both local and interstate stables.

Runners come via a number of different lead-up races including the Listed Member’s Handicap (1600m), with Reloaded (2021) the last horse to complete the Member’s Handicap – Lord Mayor’s Cup double in Brisbane.

Lord Mayor’s Cup (BRC) nominations close on the Monday of race week with final acceptances announced on the Wednesday.

2022 Lord Mayor’s Cup Field

The official BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup 2022 final field & barriers will be provided below as soon as acceptances are taken by Queensland Racing on the Wednesday leading-up to Kingsford-Smith Cup Day so bookmark this page to see what gallopers make the cut for the set weights + penalties clash.

2022 Lord Mayor’s Cup Nominations

The early BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup 2022 nominations are taken on the Wednesday of race week.

BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup Form Guide

The Lord Mayor’s Cup form guide features all the crucial race information like the saddlecloth numbers, jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up runs of the horses in the field.

Looking for the in-form interstate raiders can be key with Sydney-based trainers Chris Waller and James Cummings enjoying two and three wins respectively in the event between 2015-22.

2022 Lord Mayor’s Cup Form Guide

Stay tuned for a link to our comprehensive BRC Lord Mayor’s 2022 race form guide, available following final declarations the week leading up to Kingsford-Smith Cup Day.

BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup Tips

Lord Mayor’s Cup (BRC) tips include looking for the top three runners out of the Member’s Handicap a fortnight earlier, those proven at the 1800m distance and any quality Sydney-trained visitors in the field.

Runners aged between four and six-years-old also make the best tips in the Lord Mayor’s Cup betting tips, as do the geldings. Since 2006 just two mares have won the race with Angel Of Mercy (2014) and Col ‘N’ Lil (2017).

2022 Lord Mayor’s Cup Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup 2022 betting tips with the gallopers to back and sack this winter will be detailed below a day or so out from the race so stay tuned.

  • To Win: #2 Hungry Heart ($4 at time of publish)

Waller saddles up four in the field including the top two in betting and of those, Hungry Heart looks value to return to her better form. The now four-year-old daughter of Frankel was a good Group 2 winning juvenile who ran well in the 2020 Golden Slipper, and as a three-year-old was a Group 1 runner-up in the Flight Stakes that spring. Dual Group 1 winner in the autumn last year taking out the Vinery Stud – ATC Oaks double, but hasn’t won since. Still, she’s been competitive in plenty against tougher company than this. Most recent form hasn’t been up to scratch with a last start seventh in the Hollindale to Zaaki, but she’s the class runner in this Group 3 in a good draw with Willie Pike aboard. Can win.

Lord Mayor’s Cup Results

BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup results in recent years show a dominance by successful interstate raiders from Sydney.

The last three-year-olds to win the BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup were Rothesay (2010) and the filly Only A Lady (1998).

Some of the more notable recent BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup winners include: Sky Heights (2001), Freemason (2002), Rothesay (2010), dual champion Solzhenitsyn (2012-13), and Strawberry Boy (2015).

BRC Lord Mayor’s Cup Winners

Year Winner Second Third
2022 Bigboyroy Ballistic Boy Kolding
2021 Reloaded So You Win Homesman
2020 Gaulois Niccanova Military Zone
2019 Order Again Tom Melbourne Le Juge
2018 Duca Valentinois Sheiswhatsheis Coldstone
2017 Col ‘N’ Lil Duca Valentinois Elle Lou
2016 Mighty Lucky Pajaro Malice
2015 Strawberry Boy Lucky Lago I’m Imposing
2014 Angel Of Mercy Wistful Cameo
2013 Solzhenitsyn Transporter Epic
2012 Solzhenitsyn Firebolt Ginga Dude
2011 Firebolt St Germaine Tagus
2010 Rothesay Our Lukas Hadaaf
2009 Rampant Lion Solo Flyer Rags To Riches
2008 Rum Dum Majorca Mitanni
2007 Headturner Beauty Watch Mr Ubiquitous
2006 Cog Hill Spirit Of Tara Villa Bled
2005 Tickle Platinum Scissors Raw Instinct
2004 This Manshood St Basil Another Warrior
2003 Restless The Kildare Kid Eminence Grise
2002 Freemason Restless Brighter Scene
2001 Sky Heights Yippyio Tis Love
2000 Integrate Figurehead My Duke
1999 Joss Sticks Istidaad Gene’s Interest
1998 Only A Lady Marble Halls Gentle Wind