Caulfield Guineas Prelude 2021

Saturday September 18, 2021

Ladbrokes Tip: The Caulfield Guineas Prelude – Caulfield Guineas double is a popular spring bet!

Held on a weekend in mid to late September during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival at Caulfield Racecourse, the Caulfield Guineas Prelude is a Group 3 race open to three-year-old colts and geldings.

The set weights plus penalties race is one of five Group races at the meeting that is headlined by the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1800m). The equivalent race for fillies, the Group 2 Thousand Guineas Prelude (1400m), also runs on the same card as a lead-up to the Thousand Guineas as does the Group 3 Naturalism Stakes (2000m) offering a Caulfield Cup ballot exemption and the Group 3 How Now Stakes (1200m) for mares. 

The Caulfield Guineas Prelude is obviously the traditional preparatory run for fillies heading into the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m) back at the track the following month. The last horse to complete the Caulfield Guineas Prelude – Caulfield Guineas double was Helmet (2011).

The latest edition of the Caulfield Guineas Prelude ran on Saturday September 18, 2021 and was won by Lightsaber for Peter Moody. 

2021 Caulfield Guineas Prelude Results

The official Caulfield Guineas Prelude 2021 results & finishing order will be published below once the race is run and won on Saturday September 18, 2021.

  • 1st: #2 Lightsaber
  • 2nd: #3 Brigantine
  • 3rd: #6 Military Expert

Trainer Peter Moody has a chance to prepare another Caulfield Guineas winner following his 2010 success with Anacheeva after a gun third-up win by Lightsaber ($4.80) in the 2021 Caulfield Guineas Prelude results.

Caulfield Guineas Prelude Race Info

  • Date: Saturday September 18, 2021
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Distance: 1400m
  • Conditions: 3YO Colts & Geldings – Set Weights + Penalties
  • Status: Group 3
  • Prize Money: $300,000
  • First Run: 1985

Caulfield Guineas Prelude Betting

Caulfield Guineas Prelude odds are led each spring by in-form colts and geldings coming off good lead-up form in earlier races against similar class.

Last start winners sit high up the Caulfield Guineas Prelude betting markets with both Alligator Blood (2019) and Crosshaven (2020) coming off lead-up wins to take out the Group 3.

Horses that performed well in Flemington’s Group 2 Danehill Stakes (1200m) also often get attention in betting on the Caulfield Guineas Prelude and Native Soldier (5th in 2018) was the last Prelude winner to come out of that race.

2021 Caulfield Guineas Prelude Odds

The latest Caulfield Guineas Prelude 2021 betting odds and links to our Caulfield racing markets will be open below as soon as released so stay tuned for the top odds on the Caulfield Guineas-bound three-year-olds this spring.

Early market betting odds on the 2022 Caulfield Guineas Prelude will be displayed below once available. Odds are subject to fluctuation. For current odds on all of our live markets, please visit

Caulfield Guineas Prelude Tips

Good Caulfield Guineas Prelude tips to take to the bookies during the spring include looking for colts and geldings coming off a lead-up win in Melbourne, runners with ability over 1400m and those drawn near the rails at Caulfield.

Previous Group 1 performed youngsters at the track from the autumn out of races like the Blue Diamond Stakes also make a good tip in Caulfield Guineas Prelude betting each spring.

2021 Caulfield Guineas Prelude Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Caulfield Guineas Prelude 2021 betting tips and Group 3 racing picks for the Caulfield Guineas lead-up race will be detailed below the week of the race so stay tuned for the horses to lock-in for the win and to take in Group 1 futures markets on the mile feature next race.

  • To Win: #2 Lightsaber ($6.50 at time of publish)

An open and intriguing edition of the Prelude and like the price on offer for Lightsaber from the back to Group 1 winning stables of Peter Moody. Third-up this Zoustar colt is fit and ready to fire. Group 2 winner at Flemington in the Sires’ as a juvenile and comes off a close fourth in that good form race, the HDF McNeil Stakes.

Caulfield Guineas Prelude Field

The Caulfield Guineas Prelude field attracts a line-up of the season’s most promising middle-distance horses heading towards a run over the mile in the Caulfield Guineas.

Youngsters in the Caulfield Guineas Prelude field can come off a number of possible runs including the Listed Exford Plate (1400m) at Flemington, a double last completed by Crosshaven (2020).

Caulfield Guineas Prelude Winner Alligator Blood (2019) | Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos |
Alligator Blood won the 2019 Caulfield Guineas Prelude before going on to become a Group 1 winner the following year. Photo Credit: Ultimate Racing Photos.

Another lead-up race is the Group 3 HDF McNeil Stakes (1200m), a double last achieved by Native Soldier (2018).

The likely next-up option for Caulfield Guineas Prelude graduates is the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m). While the double hasn’t been completed since 2011, in recent times the 2020 Prelude winner Crosshaven ran a good fourth next-up in the Caulfield Guineas results. The year before, Alligator Blood missed out on a run in the Caulfield Guineas but franked the form with a win in the next autumn’s 2020 Group 1 Australian Guineas (1600m).

2021 Caulfield Guineas Prelude Field

The official Caulfield Guineas 2021 Prelude Final Field & Barriers are released the Wednesday of race week and will be published below.

The 2021 Caulfield Guineas Prelude field features 10 hopefuls with Queenslander Alpine Edge the favourite in gate one with Craig Williams riding.

  • Scratched: #5 Cape Breton (2)

2021 Caulfield Guineas Prelude Nominations

The Caulfield Guineas Prelude 2021 Nominations are taken the Monday of race week and the list of early entries will be provided below once announced.

Caulfield Guineas Prelude Form Guide

The Caulfield Guineas Prelude form guide details to punters all the need-to-know information from trainers and jockeys to barriers and lead-up runs.

The Caulfield Guineas Prelude form has also stacked up in tougher spring races in recent years.

2021 Caulfield Guineas Prelude Form Guide

A link to our detailed Caulfield Guineas Prelude 2021 Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

Caulfield Guineas Prelude Results

The Caulfield Guineas Prelude results have been dominated by single-figure chances in the past decade.

Notable recent Caulfield Guineas Prelude winners include Alligator Blood (2019), Sacred Elixir (2016), Epaulette (2012), Helmet (2011), Anacheeva (2010), Apache Cat (2005), Elvstroem (2003), Strategic (1995) and Unspoken Word (1990).

Caulfield Guineas Prelude Winners

2021LightsaberPeter G MoodyLuke Nolen58 kgs1:25.14
2020CrosshavenTom Dabernig & Ben HayesDaniel Stackhouse56 kgs1:25.57
2019Alligator BloodDavid VandykeRyan Maloney55 kgs1:23.49
2018Native SoldierDarren WeirBen Allen57 kgs1:23.36
2017PerastPaul PerryDamian Lane55 kgs1:23.47
2016Sacred ElixirTony PikeDamian Lane57.5 kgs1:24.70
2015Bon AurumCiaron MaherKerrin McEvoy56.5 kgs1:22.67
2014Rich EnuffKen KeysMichael Rodd57.5 kgs1:23.49
2013Eclair Big BangPhillip StokesDom Tourneur55 kgs1:23.38
2012EpaulettePeter SnowdenKerrin McEvoy58.5 kgs1:24.26
2011HelmetPeter SnowdenKerrin McEvoy58.5 kgs1:21.40
2010AnacheevaPeter MoodyLuke Nolen55.5 kgs1:23.16
2009DemeritPeter SnowdenMark Zahra54 kgs1:24.70
2008FernandinaLeon CorstensVlad Duric55.5 kgs1:25.42
2007PurrealistDanny O’BrienHugh Bowman54 kgs1:24.20
2006Wonderful WorldBart CummingsLuke Nolen54 kgs1:24.67
2005Apache CatGreg EurellNick Ryan57.5 kgs1:27.08
2004TiradeMathew EllertonDanny Nikolic56 kgs1:24.78
2003ElvstroemTony VasilBrett Prebble54 kgs1:22.36
2002Great GlenLeon MacdonaldKerrin McEvoy57.5 kgs1:23.29
2001Pure TheatreRobert PriscottDarren Beadman54 kgs1:24.23
2000FubuCliff BrownMatthew Gatt54 kgs1:22.47