Cricket World Cup 2019

May 30th - July 14th, 2019

The 2019 Cricket World Cup Final was won by England who celebrated their first title 

The ICC Cricket World Cup is an international cricket tournament of the One Day (ODI) format. Currently made up of 10 teams, the Cricket World Cup takes place every four years, with the champion decided in a finals format.

First taking place in 1975, the Cricket World Cup remains one of the most-watched sporting events in the World. The host country is determined on a rotational basis, while a spot in the tournament is open to all members of the International Cricket Council.

Teams that rank highly in the world rankings gain automatic qualification into the event, while lowly ranked sides gain entry via the World Cricket League or the ICC World Cup Qualifier. In previous years up to 20 teams have contested the World Cup, however the 2019 edition will saw only 10.

In its 40-plus year history, the World Cup has been won once by Pakistan and Sri Lanka, twice by the West Indies, twice by India, and five-times by Australia. In 2019 England won their first Cricket World Cup title.

Cricket World Cup Tips

2019 Cricket World Cup

  • Champions: England (1st title)
  • Runners-Up: New Zealand
  • Date: 30 May – 14 July, 2019
  • Edition: 12th
  • Format: One Day International
  • Hosts: England and Wales
  • Participating World Cup Teams: 10
  • Number of Matches: 48


2019 Cricket World Cup Final: Results

  • Result: England won on Boundary Court
  • Score: 
    New Zealand 
    241/8 (50 overs)
    15/1 (Super Over)
    241 (50 overs)
    15/0 (Super Over)
  • Date: July 14, 2019
  • Venue: Lord’s, London

The Cricket World Cup 2019 Final took place between England and New Zealand at Lord’s with the hosts, England, celebrating their first Cricket World Cup title after finishing second best on three occasions previously (1979, 1987, 1992).

The 2019 Cricket World Cup Final was one of the most thrilling and astounding games of One Day cricket of all time.

The Cricket World Cup result went to England on Boundary Court – England coring more boundaries throughout the match than their rivals (26-17) – after both the Match and the Super Over were tied.

England thrashed Australia in the second semi to make their fourth Cricket World Cup final, while the Black Caps defeated India in a surprise semi win only to finish runners-up in the Final for the second time on the trot after their loss in the 2015 World Cup.

2019 ICC Cricket World Cup Semi-Finals: Results

The 2019 Cricket World Cup Semi-Finals saw the tournament move into the knockout stage and featured two matches that decided the ICC teams to contest the World Cup Final at Lord’s.

The first Semi-Final was between New Zealand and India at Old Trafford, the Black Caps winning by 18 runs. In the second Cricket World Cup Semi the host nation, England, crushed Australia

Semi-Final One: New Zealand v India 

  • Result: New Zealand won by 18 runs
  • Score: New Zealand 239/8 (50 overs) – 221 (49.3 overs) India
  • Date: July 9, 2019
  • Venue: Old Trafford, Manchester

India and New Zealand faced off in the first Cricket World Cup 2019 Semi-Final. India had won over 70% of their games against the Kiwis and the NZ squad were clear underdogs in betting before the Black Caps scored a shock victory by 18 runs to progress through to the final.

Semi-Final Two: Australia v England 

  • Result: England won by 8 wickets
  • Score: Australia 223 (49 overs) – 226/2 (32.1 overs) England
  • Date: July 11, 2019
  • Venue: Edgbaston, Birmingham

The Cricket World Cup odds were a little tighter on the second Semi where Australia were faced with overcoming a number of injury concerns to upset England. In the end though the hosts were far too good, thrashing the Aussies by 8 wickets.

2019 Cricket World Cup Betting

Betting on the Cricket World Cup is led by the year’s in-form international cricket teams with recent victories in other ICC tournaments. Australia are the most successful team competing in the Cricket World Cup and so often head the early markets as do the season’s host nation/s.

2019 Cricket World Cup Points Table

Position Team Played Won Lost Tied No Result Points Net Run Rate Qualification
1  India 9 7 1 0 1 15 0.809 Advance to semi-finals
2  Australia 9 7 2 0 0 14 0.868
3  England (H) 9 6 3 0 0 12 1.152
4  New Zealand 9 5 3 0 1 11 0.175
5  Pakistan 9 5 3 0 1 11 −0.430 Eliminated
6  Sri Lanka 9 3 4 0 2 8 −0.919
7  South Africa 9 3 5 0 1 7 −0.030
8  Bangladesh 9 3 5 0 1 7 −0.410
9  West Indies 9 2 6 0 1 5 −0.225
10  Afghanistan 9 0 9 0 0 0 −1.322

*Cricket World Cup Points correct as of completion of Group Stage. (E) Eliminated; (H) Host; (Q) Qualified. 

Past Cricket World Cup Winners


Host Final Venue Winner Margin


1975 England London West Indies West Indies Won By 17-Runs Australia
1979 England London West Indies West Indies Won By 92-Runs England
1983 England London India India Won By 43-Runs West Indies
1987 India/Pakistan Kolkata Australia Australia Won By 7-Runs England
1992 Australia/NZ Melbourne Pakistan Pakistan Won By 22-Runs England
1996 Pakistan/India/Sri Lanka Lahore Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Won By 7-Wkts Australia
1999 England/Wales London Australia Australia Won By 8-Wkts Pakistan
2003 South Africa Johannesburg Australia Australia Won By 8-Wkts Pakistan
2007 West Indies Bridgetown Australia Australia Won By 53-Runs Sri Lanka
2011 India/Sri Lanka/Bangladesh Mumbai India India Won By 6-Wkts Sri Lanka
2015 Australia/NZ Melbourne Australia Australia Won By 7-Wkts New Zealand
2019 England/Wales London Australia England Won on Boundary Court (Match Tied; Super Over tied) New Zealand
2023 India Mumbai TBD TBD TBD

Man of the Tournament

Year Player Performance Details
1992 Martin Crowe (New Zealand) 456 runs
1996 Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka) 221 runs and 7 wickets
1999 Lance Klusener (South Africa) 281 runs and 17 wickets
2003 Sachin Tendulkar (India) 673 runs and 2 wickets
2007 Glenn McGrath (Australia) 26 wickets
2011 Yuvraj Singh (India) 362 runs and 15 wickets
2015 Mitchell Starc (Australia) 22 wickets
2019 Kane Williamson (New Zealand) 578 runs