Golf Majors

Golf is one of the most played games in the world, originating back in 15th century Scotland, and golf betting is growing in popularity especially on the four men’s major golf championships.

In the world of golf the Major Championships hold market share when it comes to golf odds on offer and are made up of four highly prestigious pro-golfing tournaments:

  • US Masters Tournament
  • PGA Championship
  • US Open
  • British Open Championships

Golf Odds & Previews

Major Golf Championships

Major Dates 2023

The dates for all the major golf championships in 2023 are detailed below. 

  • April 7-10, 2023 (Aust. time): Masters Tournament, Augusta National Golf Club
  • May 18–21, 2023 (Aust. time): US PGA Championship, Oak Hill East Course, Rochester, New York
  • June 15–18, 2023 (Aust. time): US Open, Los Angeles Country Club
  • July 20–23, 2023 (Aust. time): The Open Championship, Royal Liverpool Golf Course

The Masters Tournament is the first of the golf majors each year with the fight for the green jacket starting in March or April annually. This is now followed by the PGA Championship in May, a tournament previously contested in August annually.

US Open golf championship in June, which is run across various golf courses around the United States unlike the US Masters that is held at the coveted Augusta National Golf Club every year.

Next-up is the UK’s turn with the British Golf Open tournament taking place on the week of the third Friday in July annually.

Date Tournament Location Par Format Prize Fund Established
April Masters Tournament Augusta National Golf Club, Georgia, USA 72 Stroke Play US$18 million 1934
May PGA Championship United States (Oak Hill East Course in 2023) 70 Stoke Play US$17.5 million 1916
June US Open of Golf USA (Los Angeles Country Club in 2023) 70 Stroke Play US$20 million 1895
July British Open Championship England (Royal Liverpool Golf Course in 2023) 72 Stroke Play US$16.5 million 1860

Golf Betting

Golf betting is as big as the prize funds offered in the major golf tournaments across the year. Along with the four most prestigious golf championships – known as the Majors – fans can bet on a host of other professional golf tours led by the PGA Tour, European Tour and the four World Golf Championships events.

While US PGA odds are some of the most sought after golf markets, punters can also enjoy access to all of the PGA tour odds across the year at Ladbrokes.

Below is a look at some of the major golf markets and golf bet types.


Outright golf odds on what pro-player will take out a set tournament, often offered before the event takes place as outright or futures betting.


Odds on what golfers will finish in the Top 5 of a specified tournament.


Back a golfer to finish ahead after the first round of play.


Get behind the green-and-gold contingent and back a top Australian golfer like Jason Day to finish ahead of his fellow Aussies in a specified tournament or golf championship like the US Open.

Major Golf Championship Winners

To win a golf major is a lifelong dream of many golfers, but an esteemed group of the pro-players have enjoyed multiple golf championship victories including six-time US Masters champion Jack Nicklaus. Nicklaus also holds the record of four US Open golf victories with Willie Anderson, Bobby Jones and Ben Hogan. The record number of British Open wins is six held by Harry Vardon, while America’s PGA Championship record of five wins is co-held by Nicklaus and Walter Hagen.

Below is a list of winners of the four Golf Majors dating back to the year 2000.

Year US Masters Winner US Open Winner British Open Winner PGA Championship Winner
2023 Jon Rahm (ESP) Wyndham Clark (USA) Brian Harman (USA) Brooks Koepka (USA)
2022 Scottie Scheffler (USA) Matt Fitzpatrick (ENG) Cameron Smith (AUS) Justin Thomas (USA)
2021 Hideki Matsuyama (JPN) Jon Rahm (ESP) Collin Morikawa (USA) Phil Mickelson (USA)
2020 Dustin Johnson (USA) Bryson DeChambeau (USA) Major cancelled due to COVID-19 Collin Morikawa (USA)
2019 Tiger Woods (USA) Gary Woodland (USA) Shane Lowry (IRE) Brooks Koepka (USA)
2018 Patrick Reed (USA) Brooks Koepka (USA) Francesco Molinari (ITA) Brooks Koepka (USA)
2017 Sergio García (ESP) Brooks Koepka (USA) Jordan Spieth (USA) Justin Thomas (USA)
2016 Danny Willett (GBR) Dustin Johnson (USA) Henrik Stenson (SWE) Jimmy Walker (USA)
2015 Jordan Spieth (USA) Jordan Spieth (USA) Zach Johnson (USA) Jason Day (AUS)
2014 Bubba Watson (USA) Martin Kaymer (GER) Rory McIlroy (IRL) Rory McIlroy (IRL)
2013 Adam Scott (AUS) Justin Rose (GBR) Phil Mickelson (USA) Jason Dufner (USA)
2012 Bubba Watson (USA) Webb Simpson (USA) Ernie Els (ZAF) Rory McIlroy (IRL)
2011 Charl Schwartzel (ZAF) Rory McIlroy (IRL) Darren Clarke (IRL) Keegan Bradley (USA)
2010 Phil Mickelson (USA) Graeme McDowell (IRL) Louis Oosthuizen (ZAF) Martin Kaymer (GER)
2009 Ángel Cabrera (ARG) Lucas Glover (USA) Stewart Cink (USA) Yang Yong-eun (KR)
2008 Trevor Immelman (ZAF) Tiger Woods (USA) Pádraig Harrington (IRL) Pádraig Harrington (IRL)
2007 Zach Johnson (USA) Ángel Cabrera (ARG) Pádraig Harrington (IRL) Tiger Woods (USA)
2006 Phil Mickelson (USA) Geoff Ogilvy (AUS) Tiger Woods (USA) Tiger Woods (USA)
2005 Tiger Woods (USA) Michael Campbell (NZ) Tiger Woods (USA) Phil Mickelson (USA)
2004 Phil Mickelson (USA) Retief Goosen (ZAF) Todd Hamilton (USA) Vijay Singh (FJI)
2003 Mike Weir (CAN) Jim Furyk (USA) Ben Curtis (USA) Shaun Micheel (USA)
2002 Tiger Woods (USA) Tiger Woods (USA) Ernie Els (ZAF) Rich Beem (USA)
2001 Tiger Woods (USA) Retief Goosen (ZAF) David Duval (USA) David Toms (USA)
2000 Vijay Singh (FJI) Tiger Woods (USA) Tiger Woods (USA) Tiger Woods (USA)