Grafton Cup 2022

Thursday July 14th, 2022

Ladbrokes Tip: Gai Waterhouse has an excellent record in the Grafton Cup with four wins since 2006.

The Grafton Cup is held at the tail-end of the New South Winter Racing Carnival the Thursday after Queensland’s Winx Guineas Day and takes place at Grafton Racecourse as one of two Black-Type features run by the Clarence River Jockey Club.

The mid-week Listed event is the feature race on Grafton Cup Day, which is the second meeting of the two-day Grafton Cup Carnival that begins on the Wednesday with Ramornie Handicap Day.

A quality handicap race contested over 2350m, the Grafton Cup offers $200,000 in prize money and a ballot exemption into that year’s Newcastle Gold Cup.

The Grafton Cup attracts a strong line-up of winter stayers each year and there are a host of lead-up races that offer a ballot exemption into the field including Rosehill’s W J McKell Cup, Queensland’s Ipswich Cup held the Saturday prior, the Winter Cup at Rosehill, the Caloundra Cup, the Grafton Cup Prelude and the South Grafton Cup.

Purrfect Deal (2021) became the first horse since Rednav (2016) to do the local Grafton Cup Prelude – Grafton Cup double, while Supply And Demand (2017) took out the Caloundra Cup – Grafton Cup interstate double.

Horses that perform well in the winter’s Grafton Cup results often contest the Listed Wyong Gold Cup (2100m) in September over the spring.

The next edition of the Grafton Cup runs on Thursday July 14th, 2022.

2022 Grafton Cup Results

The official Grafton Cup 2022 Results & Finishing Order will be available below once the Listed Grafton race is run and won on Thursday July 14th, 2022.

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

Grafton Cup Race Info

  • Date: Thursday July 14th, 2022
  • Track: Grafton Racecourse
  • Distance: 2350m
  • Conditions: Quality Handicap
  • Status: Listed
  • Prize Money: $200,000
  • First Run: 1910

Grafton Cup Betting

The Grafton Cup betting markets are dominated by in-form stayers coming off good lead-up runs in events during the lead-up winter races in both Sydney and Brisbane especially Rosehill’s Listed WJ McKell Cup (2000m) that last produced a winner in Sixties Groove (2nd in 2020).

There are usually short Grafton Cup odds offered on any quality Gai Waterhouse-trained horses with the trainer boasting four victories in the race since 2006 most recently with Supply And Demand (2017).

The Kris Lees-trained Sixties Groove ($3.50 in 2020) saluted for the punters when setting a modern-day weight carrying record in the race with 61kg, and the favourites went back-to-back in 2021 with the narrow win by Purrfect Deal ($3.40).

2022 Grafton Cup Odds

The latest Grafton Cup 2022 betting odds will be provided below as soon as markets on the end-of-winter carnival event on Grafton Cup Day over the winter are announced.

Grafton Cup Field

Grafton Cup Winner Sixties Groove (pictured at Flemington). Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos |
2020 Grafton Cup Winner Sixties Groove (pictured at Flemington) saluted for the punters. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

The Grafton Cup field draws a quality line-up of winter stayers from both local and interstate stables.

Runners may come via a number of different lead-up races including the Winter Cup at Rosehill or Queensland’s Ipswich Cup held the Saturday prior.

Grafton Cup nominations close the Thursday before race week with final acceptances revealing the field released on the Monday before the race runs on the Wednesday.

2022 Grafton Cup Field

The official Grafton Cup 2022 field of final acceptors is announced by the Clarence River Jockey Club on the Monday of race week and will be published below along with the confirmed jockeys and barriers.

2022 Grafton Cup Nominations

Early Grafton Cup 2022 Nominations close the Thursday leading-up to Grafton Cup Day, which is one of two feature meetings during the Grafton Cup Carnival, and will be provided in full below.

Grafton Cup Form Guide

The Grafton Cup form guide lists for punters all the crucial pre-betting information like the jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up runs of the female sprinters in the field.

Runners trained out of Sydney stables have a strong recent record the race, so looking at the local gallopers instead of the visiting runners with a lead-up run at Rosehill is essential when doing the Grafton Cup form.

Horses aged between four and seven years old dominate the Grafton Cup form and results over the past decade, with the last three-year-old winner being Stormhill (2005).

The Grafton Cup form has held-up in tougher races and is worth following into the bigger spring races in Sydney and Melbourne later in the year.

2022 Grafton Cup Form

A link to our comprehensive Grafton Cup 2022 form guide and race betting preview will be provided for punters below the week of the event.

Grafton Cup Tips

Grafton Cup tips include looking for in-form winter stayers coming off a win in a Sydney lead-up race, graduates that finished in the money in their lead-up assignment and tipping single-figure fancies.

2022 Grafton Cup Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ exclusive Grafton Cup 2022 betting tips on the Listed race during the winter racing season will be detailed below the week of the race so, stay tuned for those to back and sack this season.

  • Best Roughie: TBD

Grafton Cup Results

The Grafton Cup results show a quality list of past winners, many of which went on to win much bigger and better races including subsequent Melbourne Cup champion Kensei (1987).

Sydney-based stables have the dominant hand in the past Grafton Cup results with Gai Waterhouse holding the modern-day training record with four recent victories since with: Rocking On (2006), Queenstown (2014), Bonfire (2015) and most recently Supply And Demand (2017).

Grafton Cup Winners

History shows there has been five multiple Grafton Cup winners with: Longwy (1919-20); three-time champion Hosier (1922-1924); Home James (1963-64); Jardel (1974-75) and most recently Oppressor (1994-95).

2021Purrfect DealLaure Me InParry Sound54 kgs2:24.44
2020Sixties GrooveKris LeesJason Collett61 kgs2:25.98
2019Sacred DayTony PikeBen Looker55.5 kgs2:23.88
2018First CrushChris MunceMark Du Plessis55.5 kgs2:23.88
2017Supply And DemandGai Waterhouse & Adrian BottJoshua Parr58.5 kgs2:23.33
2016RednavSally TaylorPeter Graham54 kgs2:24.44
2015BonfireGai WaterhouseBlake Shinn59 kgs2:22.59
2014QueenstownGai WaterhouseTim Clark54 kgs2:24.10
2013Mr O’ceirinCiaron MaherBlake Shinn56 kgs2:26.16
2012ShamardashingJohn ThompsonJeff Lloyd57.5 kgs2:25.30
2011Warrior WithinBruce HillPaul Hammersley53 kgs2:23.56
2010Twin WingGuy WalterJay Ford57.5 kgs2:23.98
2009Castle HeightsDonna LoganStathi Katsidis53 kgs2:24.98
2008Art SuccessJohn CollinsJeff Lloyd58 kgs2:22.92
2007AshrafStuart PheganDale Spriggs53 kgs2:22.91
2006Rocking OnGai WaterhouseJames Innes53 kgs2:26.41
2005StormhillTim MartinChris Munce52 kgs2:25.50
2004Pacific DancerShaun DwyerMichael Rodd53.5 kgs2:26.48
2003BelusRobert SmerdonMark Zahra54 kgs2:27.20
2002Master PomStephen QuintanoNathan Cumberland53 kgs2:26.86
2001Desk Top LoverBill MitchellMichael Cahill53 kgs2:27.78
2000SimiganBrian SmithAllan Robinson52.5 kgs2:26.21