Ipswich Cup 2022

Saturday June 18, 2022

The Ipswich Cup is a Listed staying race held at Ipswich Racecourse in Queensland towards the end of June as part of the wider Queensland Winter Racing Carnival.

Contested over 2150m, the quality handicap offers $175,000 in prize money.

The Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival officially comes to an end the weekend prior with Stradbroke Handicap Day and is followed by the Ipswich Cup Day races.

Ipswich Cup Day is also host to the Listed $200,000 Eye Liner Stakes (1350m) and the Listed $150,000 Gai Waterhouse Classic (1200m) for fillies and mares.

From 1986 – 2006 the Ipswich Cup held Group 3 status before being demoted back to its current Listed status.

The latest edition of the Ipswich Cup ran on Saturday June 18, 2022 and saw the Chris Munce-trained Smart Meteor ($20) score an upset win.

2022 Ipswich Cup Results

The complete Ipswich Cup 2022 Results & Finishing Order will be listed below once the race takes place on Saturday June 18, 2022.

  • 1st: #7 Smart Meteor ($20)
  • 2nd: #5 Our Intrigue
  • 3rd: #8 Street Dancer

Ipswich Cup Race Info

  • Date: Saturday June 18, 2022
  • Track: Ipswich Racecourse
  • Distance: 2150m
  • Conditions: Quality Handicap
  • Status: Listed
  • Prize Money: $175,000

Ipswich Cup Betting

Ipswich Cup betting markets are led by in-form winter stayers with previous form in similar grade Queensland races.

Any interstate raiders making the trip up to the sunshine state for the event also sit high up the Ipswich Cup odds each season.

Tradesman ($1.80 in 2018) was the last favourite in Ipswich Cup betting to salute for the punters.

There was a notable upset in 2021 when Happy Go Plucky won at Ipswich Cup odds of $21, and again in 2022 with Smart Meteor won at $20.

2022 Ipswich Cup Odds

The season’s best Ipswich Cup 2022 betting odds and links to our markets on the field will be available right here as soon as released so stay tuned for the best Queensland winter racing odds online.

Early market betting odds on the 2022 Ipswich Cup will be displayed below once available. Odds are subject to fluctuation. For current odds on all of our live markets, please visit ladbrokes.com.au.

Ipswich Cup Field

The Ipswich Cup field attracts a quality line-up of stayers coming off lead-up runs either in Queensland or interstate in similar grade and distance events.

Potential lead-up races to the Ipswich Cup field each season include the Group 2 Brisbane Cup (3200m) held the weekend before or the Group 3 Premier’s Cup in late May also run in Brisbane. Smart Meteor (11th in 2022) was the last Ipswich Cup winner to come via a lead-up run in the Premier’s Cup.

Ipswich Cup runners may have also had an earlier run in Brisbane’s Group 1 $1 million Doomben Cup (2000m).

Following a run in the Ipswich Cup field there are plenty of following winter racing options for graduates including the the Listed $300,000 Caloundra Cup (2400m) on the Queensland’s Sunshine Coast in early July and the Listed $200,000 Grafton Cup (2350m) held in New South Wales.

For runners that may be keen to race on the quick back-up, the Group 3 $200,000 Tattersall’s Cup (2400m) run the following Saturday back at Eagle Farm on Tattersall’s Tiara Day is another option for Ipswich Cup horses.

Recently, the 2021 Ipswich Cup winner Happy Go Plucky went on to run third in that year’s Caloundra Cup results.

Ipswich Cup nominations close the Monday before the race runs on the Saturday and final acceptances are out on the Tuesday.

2022 Ipswich Cup Field

The official Ipswich Cup 2022 Final Field & Barriers on the event will be provided in full below once announced on the Tuesday of race week so stay tuned to see the list of stayers set to face off in the winter feature.

The 2022 Ipswich Cup field attracted a capacity line-up of hopefuls with the Annabel Neasham-trained favourite, last start Eagle Farm winner Bartholomeu Dias, coming up trumps with gate three.

2022 Ipswich Cup Nominations

The Ipswich Cup 2022 early entries are taken on the Monday leading-up to the event with the full nominations to be published below.

The Ipswich Cup 2022 nominations drew 24 stayers including Annabel Neasham’s last start Eagle Farm winner Bartholomeu Dias and the Ciaron Maher & David Eustace-trained Le Don De Vie.

Last 10HorseSexAgeTrainerHcp Rating
10x60x30412ARAPAHO (FR)G5Bjorn Baker
2x11x80x020BALLISTIC BOYG5Chris Anderson101
324466×7806BARADE (FR)G7Jack Bruce83
4x172004x91BARTHOLOMEU DIAS (GB)G7Annabel Neasham93
54110x4x805BERDIBEK (FR)G8John O’Shea102
6411414×623CHAKANA (NZ)M4Stephen Marsh72
7366×644702DUNHILL (NZ)G4Kelvin Tyler72
8213×798500HONORABLE SPIRITG5John Smerdon79
95146×33021KIPLING’S JOURNEYG3Peter & Will Hulbert64
105152594688LADY SOLERNOM8Ronald Cameron67
1170x5054x10LE DON DE VIE (GB)G6Ciaron Maher & David Eustace102
122×01117169OSTERMEIERG4Alyssa & Troy Sweeney76
1325132×9424OUR INTRIGUE (NZ)M6Chris Waller
1421187×9943SCILAGOG6Leon Elliott59
158×05512645SEAT OF POWER (IRE)G7Gary Duncan90
1662266×5453SKYMAN (GB)G6Chris Waller
176131238630SMART METEORG5Chris Munce88
18410640×336SPENCERG7David Vandyke77
195x7x213141STREET DANCERG4David Vandyke82
202200×71516SWORDS DRAWNG6Shaune Ritchie & Colm Murray92
2133×8273258TAVION PRINCE (NZ)G6Tony Gollan82
2221140×9209TOP ORDERG5Kim Anderson73
2314×6008136WINSTON BLUEG4Neil Hocking59
24322×552147YOUNGBLOODG5Tony Gollan82

Table Credit: Racing Australia. 

Ipswich Cup Tips

Good Ipswich Cup tips include backing stayers coming off a top three run in Group 2 or 3 grade over the 2000m – 2400m distance range in Brisbane and any past Ipswich winners.

The male runners make a good bet in Ipswich Cup tipping with only a handful of mares having recently won the race. Since Portland Singa (2004) the only female runners to win the Ipswich Cup are Bianca (2008) and Anagold (2013).

2022 Ipswich Cup Tips

Our insider Ipswich Cup 2022 betting tips and Black-Type Queensland racing selections will be detailed below the week of the race so you know what mares to get behind at the best odds on Ipswich Cup Day.

  • To Win: TBC

Ipswich Cup Form Guide

The Ipswich Cup form guide features all the essential stats and info including the jockeys, trainers, barriers, weights and lead-up runs of the horses in the field.

The Ipswich Cup form has gone on to be franked in tougher staying events plenty of times over the years including the 2006 winner Sphenophyta continuing on to take out Flemington’s Group 1 Turnbull Stakes (2000m).

2022 Ipswich Cup Form Guide

A link to our insider Ipswich Cup Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

Ipswich Cup Results

Notable recent Ipswich Cup winners include: the only dual champion since 1948 Our Lukas (2009 & 2010), Maurus (2016) and Tradesman (2018).

Looking further back in Ipswich Cup history, the event has been won by a number of quality stayers and Group 1 winners including Caulfield Cup champion Sometime who with Confidence in the 1963 Ipswich Cup results.

Note, there was no Ipswich Cup held in 2000 due to COVID-19.

2022Smart MeteorOur IntrigueStreet Dancer
2021Happy Go PluckySo You WinFlash Aah
Race not held
2019BergeracSampsonFighting Teo
2018TradesmanFirst CrushAll In Vogue
2017Self SenseBenziniJumbo Prince
2016MaurusJumbo PrinceInstrumentalist
2015DanchaiBanca MoDarci Be Good
2014Brave AliNoisy OceanGrey Assignment
2013AnagoldHigh KinZa Magic
2012Shenzhou SteedsKinnersleyWarrior Within
2011Gold In DubaiDanagazeOur Lukas
2010Our LukasFrozoneWarrior Within
2009Our LukasMacknuckleJujulio
2008BiancaRampant LionArt Success
2007SculptorCold StartUpstaged
2006SphenophytaRampant LionMotivate
2005Forest JimMotivateClassic Karla
2004Portland SingaMotivateForest Jim
2003MowermanMon MekkiVictory Smile
2002Awesome WeatherVictory SmileLord Of The Pines
2001Henderson BayBritish BuskaGo Clinton
2000I Reign SupremeDirector’s SpecialThursday’s Child