Kennedy Oaks 2020

Thursday November 5, 2020

Ladbrokes Tip: The Wakeful Stakes is the best guide to VRC Oaks winners in the past 30 years

Formerly the Crown Oaks, now run as the Kennedy Oaks from 2017 onward,  is one of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival’s marquee races with a whole meeting known as Ladies’ Day devoted to the three-year-old fillies’ feature every year. Held on the third day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival on the Thursday after the Melbourne Cup on the first Tuesday of November, the 2500m classic runs at Flemington Racecourse and is worth $1 million in prize money.

Held since 1861 the race registered as the VRC Oaks was upgraded to a Group 1 event in 1979 and has been won by many notable mares during their three-year-old season including Mosheen (2011), Samantha Miss (2008), Miss Finland (2006), Research (1988), Rose Of Kingston (1981) and Light Fingers (1964).

The 2020 Kennedy Oaks takes place on 2020. 

2020 VRC Oaks Results

The season’s official Kennedy Oaks 2020 Results and full Kennedy Oaks Finishing Order for 2020 will be published below as of Thursday November 5, 2020 .

  • 1st: #2 Personal
  • 2nd: #5 Salto Angel
  • 3rd: #1 Montefilia

There was an upset Kennedy Oaks 2020 result with the Tom Dabernig & Ben Hayes-trained Thousand Guineas & Wakeful Stakes runner-up Personal ($6) shaking her bridesmaid status for a powerful victory in the 2500m staying contest. She defeated the Danny O’Brien-trained 20/1 outsider Salto Angel by over a length, while David Payne’s beaten odds-on favourite Montefilia ($1.80F) had to settle for third.

Kennedy Oaks Race Facts

  • Date: Thursday November 5, 2020
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse
  • Distance: 2500m
  • Conditions: 3YO Fillies – Set Weights
  • Status: Group 1
  • Prize Money: $1 million
  • First Run: 1861

Kennedy Oaks Betting & Odds

Kennedy Oaks betting markets really go off after the field is released with punters selecting from the capacity 16 fillies in the mix each year. While futures markets are open earlier, waiting for the official line-up is a safer bet.

The season’s best staying fillies typically lead the markets and are proven performers in the classic with favourites boasting a strong record with four saluting from 2008 – 2020 most recently Kirramosa (2013).

The fillies coming off a win also dominate VRC Oaks odds online with upset winner Lasqueti Spirit (2016) the first since 2012 to win off a loss. In 2017 the VRC Oaks winner Pinot came off a lead-up win in the Ethereal Stakes, while in 2018 Aristia completed the Wakeful Stakes – Kennedy Oaks double. The double was repeated a year later with Miami Bound (2019) also taking out the Oaks on the back of a Wakeful Stakes success.

2020 Kennedy Oaks Odds

The spring’s top Kennedy Oaks 2020 odds and Kennedy Oaks betting market links will be available below once open so you can back your early favourites in the Flemington Group 1 staying race at the best price.

Kennedy Oaks Tips

Kennedy Oaks tips can be found everywhere during the Melbourne Cup Carnival betting season and it is usually the favourite in the markets leading the early predictions.

The best lead-up race into the Kennedy Oaks historically is the Group 2 Wakeful Stakes run on Victoria Derby Day the Saturday prior to the race, which has produced seven winners since 2010 including Kirramosa (2013), Aristia (2018) and Miami Bound (2019) who all completed the double.

Other good Kennedy Oaks tips are to back graduates out of earlier Melbourne spring races as Lasqueti Spirit (2016) was the first winner to come off a Sydney lead-up race since Tributes (1999), and to take fillies that are proven at least up to 2000m.

2020 Kennedy Oaks Tips

Our exclusive Ladbrokes’ Kennedy Oaks 2020 Tips and Kennedy Oaks Group 1 betting predictions will be detailed below the week of the race so stay tuned for the fillies to back and sack in the Cup Carnival clash.

Kennedy Oaks Field

The Kennedy Oaks field has a capacity of 16 starters and four emergencies and is released on the Monday three days out from the race. Before the Kennedy Oaks final field of acceptances is out the week of the event, the early nominations are taken by Racing Victoria in late September and typically feature around 70 to 80 three-year-old fillies.

Fillies may come into the Kennedy Oaks field off a lead-up run in the Group 2 Wakeful Stakes (2000m) held the Saturday before on Derby Day, the double last completed by Miami Bound (2019), Aristia (2018) and Kirramosa (2013).

Another good lead-up into the Kennedy Oaks field is the classic Group 1 Ladbrokes Cox Plate (2040m) in late October with the last Oaks winner to come off the weight-for-age feature against the older horses being Samantha Miss (3rd in 2008).

2020 Kennedy Oaks Field

The official Kennedy Oaks 2020 Final Field and Kennedy Oaks Barrier Draw will be published below once its been officially released.

The 14-filly 2020 Kennedy Oaks field is dominated by David Payne’s Flight Stakes – Spring Champion Stakes double winner from Sydney Montefilia.

Kennedy Oaks Form Guide

The Kennedy Oaks form guide details all the basic information and statistics you need to place a well-informed wager on the classic including the jockeys and trainers of each filly, their starting barrier and lead-up form.

Last start winners are always a good way to go with eight VRC Oaks winners from 2009 – 2020 having won their lead-up race. Previous form at Flemington is also crucial with all but 10 Kennedy Oaks champs since 1983 having had their final start at the track.

Crown Oaks Betting markets put Jameka first for the 2015 running of the race.

Crown Oaks Winner (2015) Jameka went on to win the Caulfield Cup the following year. Photo by Ultimate Racing Photos

Kennedy Oaks Form Facts

  • Kennedy Oaks favourites have only one once since 2010
  • Last start winners have dominated the recent Kennedy Oaks results
  • The Wakeful Stakes is the key Kennedy Oaks form race producing more winners in the past 30 years than any other event
  • Fillies that contested a Flemington race before the Kennedy Oaks have the best strike rate

2020 Kennedy Oaks Form Guide

A link to the comprehensive Kennedy Oaks 2020 Form Guide will be provided below the week of the race.

Kennedy Oaks Results

The Kennedy Oaks results and finishing order of all the starters are known after the event runs as one of the last on the Flemington card on the Thursday meeting in early November. The results reveal not only the winner but also the winning quinella, trifecta and first four and the margins that are all crucial when checking your exotic bets.

There have been a number of notable upset Kennedy Oaks results in the past decade including the shock all-the-way win by Lasqueti Spirit ($101) in 2016.

Some of the standout Kennedy Oaks winners include subsequent Caulfield Cup winner Jameka (2016), Samantha Miss (2008), Miss Finland (2006) and Research (1988).

Kennedy Oaks Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Personal Salto Angel Montefilia 2:36.98
2019 Miami Bound Never Listen Moonlight Maid 2:38.32
2018 Aristia Greysful Glamour Miner’s Miss 2:40.54
2017 Pinot Bring Me Roses Hiyaam 2:37.25
2016 Lasqueti Spirit Harlow Gold Eleonora 2:37.7
2015 Jameka Honesta Ambience 2:43.3
2014 Set Square Thunder Lady Golconda 2:39.3
2013 Kirramosa Zanbagh Solicit 2:40.6
2012 Dear Demi Zydeco Summerbliss 2:35.8
2011 Mosheen Dowager Queen Roma Giaconda 2:39.3
2010 Brazilian Pulse Shamrocker Placement 2:41.6
2009 Faint Perfume Valdemoro Savsbelle 2:37.2
2008 Samantha Miss Miss Scarlatti Allez Wonder 2:37.5
2007 Arapaho Miss Serious Speed Marjorie 2:36.8
2006 Miss Finland Tuesday Joy Anamato 2:37.2
2005 Serenade Rose Florica Danica Empress Lily 2:36.3
2004 Hollow Bullet Kylikwong Storm Alert 2:31.2
2003 Special Harmony Dane Belltar Timbourina 2:39.0
2002 Bulla Borghese Lashed Antique 2:36.3
2001 Magical Miss Manang Li Lo Lill 2:34.7
2000 Lovelorn Lan Kwai Fong Lolita Star 2:35.3