Liverpool City Cup 2022

Saturday February 26, 2022

Ladbrokes Tip: The Liverpool City Cup serves as a potential lead-up into the Group 1 Doncaster Mile in the autumn

The Group 3 Liverpool City Cup is a Group 3 race run and won at Royal Randwick in late February on Chipping Norton Stakes Day.

A key support act on the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival card that is headlined by the Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes (1600m) and Group 1 Surround Stakes (1400m), the event runs over 1300m and offers $160,000 in prize money.

The Liverpool City Cup is a quality handicap race open to horses aged three-years-old and above and was first run in 1970.

It has held Group 3 status since 1979 and serves as a lead-up into the Group 1 Doncaster Mile (1600m) during ‘The Championships’ in April.

The latest edition of the Liverpool City Cup ran on Saturday February 26, 2022 at Randwick on Chipping Norton Stakes Day and saw the favourite Ellsberg ($2.60F) salute for the punters on a Heavy (10) track.

Liverpool City Cup Race Facts

  • Date: Saturday February 26, 2022
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse
  • Distance: 1300m
  • Conditions: Quality Handicap – 3YOs & Upwards
  • Status: Group 3
  • Prize Money: $160,000
  • First Run: 1970

2022 Liverpool City Cup Results

The official Liverpool City Cup 2022 results will be published in full below when the race is run and won on Saturday February 26, 2022.

  • 1st: #2 Ellsberg ($2.60F)
  • 2nd: #5 Brutality
  • 3rd: #11 Blue Soldier

Liverpool City Cup Betting

Liverpool City Cup odds and betting markets favour the season’s in-form middle-distance gallopers eyeing a run in bigger and better races over the autumn like the Doncaster Mile. 

Many runners are resuming in the event so first-up performers with a good fresh strike-rate often dominate Liverpool City Cup betting. 

Think It Over (2021) scoring an upset at odds of 50/1 followed in 2022 by the favourite Ellsberg ($2.60F) are the latest first-up runners to win the Liverpool City Cup. 

2022 Liverpool City Cup Odds

The updated Liverpool City Cup 2022 odds on the Group 3 event at Randwick Racecourse will be available the week of the race so stay tuned.

Early market betting odds on the 2022 Liverpool City Cup will be displayed below once available. Odds are subject to fluctuation. For current odds on all of our live markets, please visit

Liverpool City Cup Field

Liverpool City Cup Winners (Think It Over) | Photo: Steve Hart | Ladbrokes

2021 Liverpool City Cup winner Think It Over pictured winning the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes. Photo: Steve Hart.

The Liverpool City Cup field attracts a quality line-up mile types that often have bigger races in mind over the coming weeks. 

Following a run in the Liverpool City Cup a good next-up race for runners is the Group 2 Ajax Stakes (1500m) at Rosehill Gardens.

Looking further ahead the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes (1500m) makes a nice target for Liverpool City Cup graduates. Think It Over (2021) was the last horse to complete the Liverpool City Cup – George Ryder Stakes double

Liverpool City Cup nominations close the Monday before the race with the final field of acceptances and barrier draw released on the Wednesday.

2022 Liverpool City Cup Field

The official Liverpool City Cup 2022 field and barriers will be announced below on Wednesday February 23, 2022 so bookmark this page to see the Group 1-bound gallopers lining-up in the Chipping Norton Stakes Day Group 3.


  • #1 Alligator Blood (3)
  • #3 Riodini (9)
  • #4 Aramayo (7)
  • #6 Chat (12)
  • #9 Quantico (6)
  • #10 Superium (1)

2022 Liverpool City Cup Nominations

The official Liverpool City Cup 2022 nominations are open until the Monday of race week.

Last 10HorseSexAgeTrainerHcp Rating
1x967x10x00AIMG4Peter & Paul Snowden95
2479x23299xARAMAYOG6Chris Waller101
311x141600xATISHU (NZ)M4Chris Waller98
403x847164xBLUE SOLDIER (USA)G5David Payne92
5441x03431xBRUTALITYG5Joseph Pride101
65x127158x6CHATG5John Thompson100
7422x12712xELLSBERGH4Gerald Ryan & Sterling Alexiou102
8x54518x5x5LAWS OF INDICES (IRE)H4Annabel Neasham106
912446×1MAOTAIC3Kacy Fogden82
10329x9808x9ORDER OF COMMANDG7Danny O’Brien96
1103930×3602POETIC CHARMERG7Peter & Paul Snowden86
1211x0x4111xQUANTICOG5John O’Shea95
13x8752208x0RIODINI (NZ)G5Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott102
14x32331x554SUPERIUMG5Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes94

Table Credit: Racing Australia.

Liverpool City Cup Tips

Good Liverpool City Cup tips include backing first-up performers with a nice Randwick record and previous winning form fresh. 

2022 Liverpool City Cup Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Liverpool City Cup 2022 tips and betting selections will be available for punters below the week of the race sorting the best from the rest in the race for potential Doncaster Mile-bound runners. 

  • To Win: #2 Ellsberg ($4.40 at time of publish)

Liverpool City Cup Form Guide

The Liverpool City Cup form guide lists all the important facts and stats on the runners in the event including jockeys, trainers, barriers, weights, track/distance records and win/place rates.

The Liverpool City Cup form has gone on to stack-up in better races a number of times over the years including in 2019 when the winner Dreamforce went on to run third in the George Ryder Stakes before a second in the Doncaster Mile results that campaign. 

2022 Liverpool City Cup Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Liverpool City Cup 2022 Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

Liverpool City Cup Results

Notable Liverpool City Cup winners throughout history include: Lord Nelson (1973), Pharaoh (1993), Danleigh (2008), Triple Elegance (2011), It’s Somewhat (2015), Dreamforce (2019) and Think It Over (2021). 

Liverpool City Cup Winners

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2022 Ellsberg Gerald Ryan & Sterling Alexiou Tim Clark 57.5 kgs 1:20.42
2021 Think It Over Kerry Parker Glen Boss 57 kgs 1:17.22
2020 Quackerjack Mark Newnham Joshua Parr 56.5 kgs 1:15.35
2019 Dreamforce John Thompson Blake Shinn 59.5 kgs 1:15.07
2018 Crack Me Up Bjorn Baker Jason Collett 59 kgs 1:16.52
2017 McCreery Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 56 kgs 1:19.28
2016 Charlie Boy Paul Snowden Blake Shinn 57 kgs 1:15.08
2015 It’s Somewhat John O’Shea James McDonald 57 kgs 1:15.88
2014 Terravista Joseph Pride Jason Collett 55 kgs 1:16.58
2013 Skyerush Guy Walter Blake Shinn 56 kgs 1:16.41
2012 Ofcourseican Ron Quinton Kathy O’Hara 54 kgs 1:17.97
2011 Triple Elegance Chris Waller Jim Cassidy 53 kgs 1:15.92
2010 Dreamscape Gai Waterhouse Stathi Katsidis 53 kgs 1:17.27
2009 Judged Joseph Pride Jim Cassidy 53 kgs 1:15.54
2008 Danleigh Chris Waller Darren Beadman 55 kgs 1:16.59
2007 The Free Stater Paul Cave James Innes 54 kgs 1:10.25
2006 Utzon Les Bridge James Innes 53.5 kgs 1:09.51
2005 Sam Sung A Song Gerald Ryan Scott Seamer 53.5 kgs 1:09.85
2004 Carael Boy Bob Milligan Brad Pengelly 53.5 kgs 1:12.19
2003 Planchet John Hawkes Rod Quinn 53.5 kgs 1:09.82
2002 Bomber Bill Russell Cameron Michael Cahill 57.5 kgs 1:09.75
2001 Continuum John Hawkes Larry Cassidy 52 kgs 1:10.50
2000 Catatonic John Hawkes Larry Cassidy 52 kgs 1:10.87