Victory Stakes 2021

Saturday May 1, 2021

Ladbrokes Tip: The Victory Stakes is a traditional lead-up into the Doomben 10,000

The Victory Stakes is a Group 2 race held at Eagle Farm Racecourse, or in recent years Doomben Racecourse, and is one of the first features of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

Run over 1200m the sprint showdown has a total of $250,000 on offer, the event was formerly known as the Sir Byrne Hart Stakes and is run under weight-for-age conditions.

For 2020 the Victory Stakes ran in late May offering a reduced $175,000 as part of a smaller Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It also ran as a set weights plus penalties event instead of weight-for-age to make it the key Stradbroke Handicap lead-up.

In 2021 the Victory Stakes was moved back to early May to run on the same card as the Group 2 Queensland Guineas (1600m).

The Victory Stakes is an early lead-up to some of the carnival’s Group 1 majors including the Doomben 10,000 Doomben a fortnight later and the Group 1 Kingsford-Smith Cup (1350m) – formerly the BTC Cup.

The latest edition of the Victory Stakes took place on Saturday May 1, 2021 and was won by last year’s runner-up Niccanova. 

Victory Stakes Race Info

  • Date: Saturday May 1, 2021
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse
  • Distance: 1200m
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age
  • Status: Group 2
  • Prize Money: $250,000
  • First Run: 1980

2021 Victory Stakes Results

The complete Victory Stakes Results 2021 and Finishing Order will be available below once the race takes place at on Saturday May 1, 2021.

  • 1st: #3 Niccanova
  • 2nd: #2 Vega One
  • 3rd: #11 Pennino

The Steve Tregea-trained Niccanova ($12) was eye-catching first-up saluting in the 2021 Victory Stakes results ahead of a potential Group 1 Stradbroke bid this winter in Brisbane.

Victory Stakes Odds & Betting

Victory Stakes betting markets are usually led by proven sprinters with a good strike rate over the 1200m. Local advantage at Eagle Farm Racecourse (or Doomben) has been key in recent years as well with the likes of Buffering (2011 and 2013) and Temple Of Boom (2014) holding off horses from interstate.

Runners that features in the previous year’s edition are often higher up the Victory Stakes odds for the next season if backing up  and the race can feature in doubles betting with upcoming Group 1 races like the Doomben 10,000 and Kingsford-Smith Cup (formerly the BTC Cup).

2021 Victory Stakes Betting

The season’s top Victory Stakes 2021 betting odds on the potential Group 1 winter runners will be available here on race week so stay tuned for access to the best Eagle Farm racing odds and offers.

Victory Stakes 2021 ODDS

Early market betting odds on the 2021 Victory Stakes will be displayed below once available. Odds are subject to fluctuation. For current odds on all of our live markets, please visit

Victory Stakes Field

The Victory Stakes field attracts sprinters from both local and interstate stables, many of which come off runs in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

In 2016 the Victory Stakes winner Fell Swoop came off a second in the Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) at Randwick earlier in the month. Horses out of the Victory Stakes field may back up in the Group 1 Doomben 10,000 (1200m) at Doomben Racecourse two weeks later.

Victory Stakes nominations close the Monday before the race runs on the Saturday and the final field along with barriers are released on the Wednesday.

2021 Victory Stakes Field

The official Victory Stakes 2021 Final Field of sprinters and barrier draw will be available below once announced the Wednesday of race week so stay tuned to see what Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival hopes are in the mix for the Doomben 10,000 lead-up this season.

The 2021 Victory Stakes field features 11 potential Group 1 bound sprint types led in betting by Godolphin’s 2019 Stradbroke Handicap champion Trekking.

  • Scratched: #8 Garibaldi (11)
Victory Stakes 2017 betting odds online at Ladbrokes

Champion sprinter Buffering won multiple editions of the Victory Stakes in 2011 and 2013. Photo Credit: Daniel Costello.

2021 Victory Stakes Nominations

The Victory Stakes nominations 2021 nominations close the Monday of race week.

Victory Stakes Tips

Top Victory Stakes tips include looking for proven performers at the track / distance, those coming out of tougher Sydney autumn lead-ups like the TJ Smith Stakes and horses drawn well at the Eagle Farm track.

If a top class horse features in the field they are usually the ones to get behind with the likes of Swiss Ace (2008-09) and Buffering (2011 & 2013) saluting for punters in multiple editions of the race.

More recently in 2019 the classy mare I Am Excited won the Victory Stakes improving on her third behind Impending in the previous year’s race.

2021 Victory Stakes Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ exclusive Victory Stakes 2021 betting tips and Group 2 racing selections will be detailed below leading up to the Eagle Farm showdown so bookmark this page for the winter sprinters to back and sack on way to the bigger Brisbane races of the season.

  • To Win: #10 Fasika ($3.70 at time of publish) 

An open edition of the Victory Stakes with some genuine Group 1 stars taking on the local hopes. From Sydney, Joe Pride’s talented So You Think mare Fasika comes off a lead-up Group 2 win at Randwick and looks fit second-up. She gets the run of the race from barrier one for her first start at Eagle Farm and has a gun record over the distance. Big hope.

Victory Stakes Form Guide

The Victory Stakes form guide features all the must know info like saddlecloth numbers, barriers, jockeys, trainers and lead-up form for all horses in the field. Studying the Victory Stakes form for sprinters with good form over 1200m, Group 1 performers from the Sydney Autumn Carnival and local hopes with a nice Eagle Farm strike-rate can help with tipping.

The Victory Stakes form has also stacked up in the subsequent Group 1 Brisbane Winter Carnival races in recent years like the BTC Cup that Victory Stakes winners Buffering (2011), Swiss Ace (2008) and Mitanni (2007) all went on to place in. The BTC Cup however is now run over 1300m later in the Carnival and the Doomben 10,000 is now the likely next-up target for horses out of the Victory Stakes.

 2021 Victory Stakes Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Victory Stakes 2021 Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

Victory Stakes Results

Victory Stakes results have been dominated by nice types over the years with local runners saluting more often than not. Notable Victory Stakes winners from the past decade include Swiss Ace (2008-09), Buffering (2011 & 2013), Temple Of Boom (2014) and Srikandi (2015).

Victory Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2021 Niccanova Vega One Pennino 1:11.9
2020 Victorem Niccanova Deep Image 1:10.6
2019 I Am Excited Redzel Jonker 1:09.6
2018 Impending Most Important I Am Excited 1:10.0
2017 Music Magnate Hopfgarten Miss Cover Girl 1:13.2
2016 Fell Swoop Didntcostalot Artlee 1:09.0
2015 Srikandi Ball Of Muscle Dances On Stars 1:09.6
2014 Temple Of Boom Spirit Of Boom Snitzerland 1:09.0
2013 Buffering Spirit Of Boom Albrecht 1:08.5
2012 Not held
2011 Buffering Atomic Force Azzaland 1:13.0
2010 Ghetto Blaster The Jackal Albert The Fat 1:09.6
2009 Swiss Ace Sniper’s Bullet Red Element 1:09.7
2008 Swiss Ace Atapi Dance The Waves 1:09.8
2007 Mitanni Anwaar Tellem 1:09.7
2006 All Bar One Falaise Impaler 1:08.5
2005 Wager Deuxieme Dezigna 1:21.9
2004 Only Words Our Egyptian Raine Defier 1:25.8
2003 Tit For Taat Scenic Peak Mr Bureaucrat 1:21.5
2002 Mr Bureaucrat Salgado Faiza 1:23.3
2001 Make Mine Magic Play Station Camarena 1:20.8
2000 Cheiron Narwong City Fair 1:22.8