Women’s World Cup 2019

The 2019 Women’s World Cup takes place in France from June 7 – July 7

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is an international football tournament contested between 24 national teams on a four-year basis.

Beginning in 1991, the competition follows a similar format to the men’s tournament, with several of the world’s top teams subject to three years of qualifying tournaments to determine the final 24.

The final 24 sides then compete in the World Cup Finals to determine the overall champion.

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019

  • World Cup Dates: June 7, 2019 – July 7, 2019
  • Host Country: France
  • Edition: 9th
  • Number of Teams: 24
  • Defending Champions: United States

The 2019 Women’s World Cup will take place in France between June and July. France becomes the fourth country to host both the men’s and women’s World Cup.

World Cup Winning Teams

The United States returns to the 2019 Women’s World Cup hoping to defend their 2015 title. The USA has won the tournament three times (1991, 1999, 2015), surpassing Germany (2003, 2007) to become the first side to win three championships.

Of the 24 qualified teams, Chile, Jamaica, Scotland and South Africa will all make their World Cup debuts in 2019. Italy also returns to the tournament for the first time since 1999.

Brazil, Germany, Japan, Nigeria, Norway, Sweden and the United States all qualified for their eighth straight World Cup.

World Cup Winning Teams

  • United States (3)
  • Germany (2)
  • Norway ( 1)
  • Japan (1)

World Cup Qualifiers

The soccer World Cup qualifiers or qualifying tournaments can kick off close to three years before the actual World Cup date, lasting around two years, and decide the teams that will play in the World Cup finals.

World Cup Final

The World Cup Final, often referred to simply as the World Cup, is played over four weeks in the host nation of FIFA’s choosing.

The tournament begins like the men’s, with a group stage followed by a knockout stage. The group stage splits all 24 sides into even groups of four, pitting them against each other for three matches. The two sides that finish first and second in each group and the four best sides among those that finished third qualify for the Round of 16, better known as the knockout stage.

The ranking of each team in the group standings is determined on a points basis. The team with the greatest number of points in group matches, the greatest goal differential and the greatest number of goals scored all factors into a team’s ranking.

World Cup Records

  • Most Goals: Marta (15)
  • Most Matches: Kristine Lilly (30)
  • Most Tournaments: Formiga (6)
  • Highest Attendance: United States, 1999 (90,185)
  • Team to Reach the Top 4: United States (7)

World Cup Winners

Year Host Nation/s Winners Score Runners-Up
1991 China United States 2-1 Norway
1995 Sweden Norway 2-0 Germany
1999 United States United States 5-4 (PEN) China
2003 United States Germany 2-1 Sweden
2007 China Germany 2-0 Brazil
2011 Germany Japan 3-1 (PEN) United States
2015 Canada United States 5-2 Japan
2019 France TBD TBD TBD