Big Bash League

The Big Bash League (BBL) is an annual cricket tournament held down under each December – January giving punters something to look forward to on those hot summer nights.

It is an Australian domestic Twenty20 cricket competition currently sponsored by KFC, and the T20 format means all Big Bash games played give each of the two teams a single innings, which is restricted to a max of 20 overs. Cricket Australia introduced the current Big Bash T20 tournament for the 2011-12 season, with eight BBL Teams facing off in the round-robin format during December and January.

The current Big Bash League Teams in the competition are the:

  • Adelaide Strikers
  • Brisbane Heat
  • Hobart Hurricanes
  • Melbourne Renegades
  • Melbourne Stars
  • Perth Scorchers
  • Sydney Sixers
  • Sydney Thunder

Four of these teams have won a Big Bash title, while the sole three-time BBL winning team is the Perth Scorchers (2013-14, 2014-15, 2016-17).

big bash league odds

The BBL is one of the fastest growing compeitions in the country. Photo credit: Sports24Hour

Each BBL team plays each other at least once over the series and they are also all assigned a set “rival” they will play for a second time over the season. Traditional Big Bash League rivals include the two same-city clubs such as the Melbourne Renegades and Melbourne Stars, which means the Twenty20 BBL tournament can host two Melbourne derbies and two Sydney derbies over the season.

There are eight Big Bash rounds during the group stage match, with four cricket matches played per round. Every BBL team plays eight group stage matches getting the home ground advantage four times and playing away four times.

For the 2017-18 Big Bash League the number of regular season games will rise from 32 to 40, changing the number of home games for each team to five.

The Top 4 ranked teams on the BBL Ladder at the end of this group round then progress onto the tournament’s knock-out Semi-Finals. The Big Bash League Final is contested at the highest-ranked team’s home ground.

Big Bash betting on the group stage matches and three T20 finals is big business in the summer months, with futures cricket odds also open on the tournament months in advance.

Big Bash Records

While the current BBL tournament has only been around since 2011-12, there have been some notable cricket records set within that time. Aaron Finch with the Melbourne Renegades holds the Big Bash batting record of most runs with 1,561. In the Big Bash bowling records it is Ben Laughlin with the most wickets (69).

Other Big Bash League records to consider when placing your cricket bets on the next tournament can be viewed in the tables below.

Big Bash League Batting Records

Title Player Record
Most Runs Aaron Finch 1,561
Highest Average Usman Khawaja 51.18
Highest Score Luke Wright 117 vs Hobart Hurricanes (9 January 2012)
Highest Partnership Rob Quiney & Luke Wright 172 vs Hobart Hurricanes (9 January 2012)
Most Sixes Chris Lynn 94

Big Bash League Bowling Records

Title Player Record
Most Wickets Ben Laughlin 69
Lowest Average Lasith Malinga 15.00
Best Strike Rate Yasir Arafat 13.6
Best Economy Rate Lasith Malinga 5.40
Best Bowling Figures Lasith Malinga 6/7 vs Perth Scorchers (12 December 2012)

Big Bash League Fielding Records

Title Player Record
Most Dismissals (Wicket-Keeper) Tim Paine 30
Most Catches (Fielder) Adam Voges 24

Big Bash League Team Records

Title Team Record
Highest total Hobart Hurricanes 223-8 (20) vs Melbourne Renegades (12 January 2017)
Lowest total Melbourne Renegades 57 (12.4) vs Melbourne Stars (3 January 2015)
Team Span Matches Won Lost Tied & Won Tied & Lost No Result Win% Titles
Adelaide Strikers 2011–2017 49 24 23 0 0 2 51.06 0
Brisbane Heat 2011–2017 50 22 27 0 1 0 45.00 1
Hobart Hurricanes 2011–2017 50 22 27 0 0 1 44.89 0
Melbourne Renegades 2011–2017 48 22 26 0 0 0 45.83 0
Melbourne Stars 2011–2017 54 31 22 1 0 0 58.33 0
Perth Scorchers 2011–2017 58 37 20 1 0 0 64.65 3
Sydney Sixers 2011–2017 54 29 22 1 2 0 56.48 1
Sydney Thunder 2011–2017 49 14 34 0 0 1 29.16 1

*Records correct as of January 25, 2017.

Big Bash Finals

The Big Bash League runs over the summer each season down under and comes to a thrilling conclusion with the BBL Finals in late January. After 32 Big Bash games are played by the eight teams in the domestic Twenty20 competition during the group stage that is divided into eight BBL rounds, the Big Bash League finals feature three knock-out matches.

Where the BBL teams finish on the Big Bash Ladder at the end of these opening eight rounds, which each feature four BBL matches, determines whether they press onto a finals bid that season. Teams are awarded two points for a win and the squad with the most points sits top of the table moving onto the finals with the other three highest-ranked teams.

The five teams last in the cricket standings at this point are knocked out of the competition. The highest-ranked team playing in the Big Bash League Final has the home ground advantage.

Big Bash betting is open months in advance on exactly which teams will make it to the BBL semi-finals and which club will come up trumps and take out the championship title.

The most successful of the Big Bash teams to date reaching the final of the tournament in five of the six seasons played from 2011 – 2017 is the Perth Scorchers who enjoyed their third championship in the 2016-17 Big Bash.  Of the four teams to win a BBL competition, the Scorchers are the most successful winning back-to-back T20 Big Bash finals in 2013-14, 2014-15 and taking it out again in 2016-17 . Their home ground – WACA Ground – has hosted the Big Bash Final four times, which is more than any other cricket venue.

Big Bash Finals draw record crowds and there is the incentive of extra prize money allocated by Cricket Australia for those BBL teams to make it to the semis. The BBL Champions also are awarded $450,000 in prize money for the season. The 2016-17 Big Bash Final drew the highest ever crowd in a Big Bash League match at the WACA with 21,832 fans out in force.

Big Bash Finals Results

Season Final Winner Result Runner-Up Final Host Final Venue
2011–12 Sydney Sixers Sixers won by 7 wickets Perth Scorchers Perth Scorchers WACA Ground
2012–13 Brisbane Heat Heat won by 34 runs Perth Scorchers Perth Scorchers WACA Ground
2013–14 Perth Scorchers Scorchers won by 39 runs Hobart Hurricanes Perth Scorchers WACA Ground
2014–15 Perth Scorchers Scorchers won by 4 wickets Sydney Sixers Neutral Venue Manuka Oval
2015–16 Sydney Thunder Thunder won by 3 wickets Melbourne Stars Melbourne Stars Melbourne Cricket Ground
2016–17 Perth Scorchers Scorchers won by  9 wickets Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers WACA Ground