Cox Plate 2017

Saturday 28th October

Ladbrokes Tip: Four-year-olds have a gun recent record winning the Cox Plate at weight-for-age

Australasia’s weight-for-age championship the Cox Plate is known as “the race where legends are made” and each year attracts the best WFA horses from both Australia and overseas. Run at the notoriously tight Moonee Valley circuit in Melbourne each spring, the 2040m classic is now worth $3 million in prize money and has been run since 1922 when Tangalooma won. Named in honour of W.S. Cox who founded the Melbourne Racing Club, the Cox Plate has been won by many turf champions over the years including racing legend Phar Lap (1930-31), New Zealand hero Rising Fast (1954) who also won that year’s Melbourne and Caulfield Cups, and triple Melbourne Cup winning mare Makybe Diva (2005). The brilliant mare Winx was the most recent winner of the Cox Plate, purchasedd at the Magic Millions Gold Coast Yearling sale of 2013.

This year the Cox Plate will be run on Saturday 28th October.

Cox Plate Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 08x0775x85 HAPPY TRAILS Paul Beshara Ben Melham 10 59kg 112
2 21212×1212 BLACK HEART BART Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 6 59kg 118
3 650x5x2111 HARTNELL (GB) John O’Shea James McDonald 7 59kg 123
4 332722×121 HAURAKI John O’Shea 8 59kg 118
5 1x4523x564 HAPPY CLAPPER Patrick Webster Brenton Avdulla 4 59kg 115
6 10×2014121 VADAMOS (FR) Andre Fabre Joao Moreira 2 59kg 121
7 x0420x0155 AWESOME ROCK Leon & Troy Corstens Stephen Baster 5 59kg 115
8 1x1111x111 WINX Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 3 57kg 127
9 8915x41x43 LUCIA VALENTINA (NZ) Kris Lees Kerrin McEvoy 9 57kg 117
10 11x21x621 YANKEE ROSE David Vandyke Dean Yendall 1 47.5kg 112

The Cox Plate field is released on the Tuesday before the race runs on a Saturday in late October each year as part of the two meeting Cox Plate Carnival that kicks off on the Friday night with Manikato Stakes Night. The race has a capacity of 14 starters plus four emergencies and is open to horses aged three years and older. Many horses come into the race via earlier spring features including the Caulfield Stakes and Turnbull Stakes. Cox Plate nominations, which typically feature over 200 early entries, are taken in August before a number of declaration stages whittle down the line-up to the confirmed final acceptors.

Cox Plate Betting & Odds

Early Cox Plate betting opens during the winter months before the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival even kicks off and features a list of all-in prices on possible runners. While there is good value on offer in these futures markets many punters prefer to wait until a few days out when the confirmed field is released. Upsets are not uncommon in the Cox Plate and since 2000 when Sunline (11/8F) saluted for the first of her two victories only three other favourites have won the race.

Winx clear odds-on favourite in Cox Plate betting markets.

Champion mare Winx won the 2015 Cox Plate in record-breaking time. Photo by Ultimate Racing Photos

Cox Plate Tips

Cox Plate tips flood in during October every year and usually the pro punters and tipsters put three and four-year-olds on top of their selections as this age group has won every Cox Plate from 2009 – 2014, the weight-for-age conditions suiting the younger horses. Tipping a Cox Plate winner also involves looking at the lead-up form with gallopers coming off a top three run the best performed in this spring classic.

Cox Plate Form Guide

The Cox Plate form guide is a key reference for any smart punter wanting to place the winning bet on the race and features all the information you need to determine the chances of the horses in the field. The best form guides feature basic information like saddlecloth numbers, barriers and jockeys as well as more detailed statistics like lead-up form, win / place percentages and records at the track / distance. The Caulfield Stakes is one of the best lead-up races into the Cox Plate with the double most recently achieved by Ocean Park (2012). The Caulfield Guineas is also a key lead-up race producing the likes of Shamus Award (2013) and So You Think (2009) in recent years, while the Turnbull Stakes has also produced two Cox Plate winners in the past decade with El Segundo (2007) and Makybe Diva (2005).

Cox Plate Results

The Cox Plate results are known after the classic jumps as Moonee Valley Race 8 at the late October meeting each spring. As well as listing the complete Cox Plate finishing order the results show the trainer and jockey of each horse as well as the margin between each place, the weight they carried and their starting price in the betting markets.

2017 Cox Plate Results

The 2017 Cox Plate Results are now published below.

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 8 WINX Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 3 57kg $1.80F
2 3 HARTNELL (GB) John O’Shea James McDonald 8L 7 59kg $5
3 10 YANKEE ROSE David Vandyke Dean Yendall 8.75L 1 47.5kg $13
4 6 VADAMOS (FR) Andre Fabre Mark Zahra 9.75L 2 59kg $21
5 7 AWESOME ROCK Leon & Troy Corstens Stephen Baster 10.5L 5 59kg $101
6 5 HAPPY CLAPPER Patrick Webster Brenton Avdulla 11L 4 59kg $51
7 9 LUCIA VALENTINA (NZ) Kris Lees Kerrin McEvoy 12.25L 9 57kg $16
8 4 HAURAKI John O’Shea Dwayne Dunn 12.45L 8 59kg $31
9 2 BLACK HEART BART Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 13.2L 6 59kg $15
10 1 HAPPY TRAILS Paul Beshara Ben Melham 14.45L 10 59kg $101

Cox Plate Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Winx Hartnell Yankee Rose 2:06.35
2015 Winx Criterion Highland Reel 2:02.9
2014 Adelaide Fawkner Silent Achiever 2:03.7
2013 Shamus Award Happy Trails Fiorente 2:05.2
2012 Ocean Park All Too Hard Pierro 2:04.1
2011 Pinker Pinker Jimmy Choux Rekindled Interest 2:05.3
2010 So You Think Zipping Whobegotyou 2:07.4
2009 So You Think Manhattan Rain Zipping 2:03.9
2008 Maldivian Zipping Samantha Miss 2:06.9
2007 El Segundo Wonderful World Haradasun 2:06.3
2006 Fields Of Omagh El Segundo Pompeii Ruler 2:06.9
2005 Makybe Diva Lotteria Fields Of Omagh 2:09.3
2004 Savabeel Fields Of Omagh Starcraft 2:06.9
2003 Fields Of Omagh Defier Lonhro 2:07.6
2002 Northerly Defier Grandera 2:06.3
2001 Northerly Sunline Viscount 2:05.8
2000 Sunline Diatribe Referral 2:07.7