Makybe Diva Stakes 2018

Saturday September 15, 2018

Ladbrokes Tip: Older milers have a great record in the Makybe Diva Stakes in the past decade

The Makybe Diva Stakes is the opening Group 1 mile race of the annual Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival and takes place on a Saturday in early – mid September at the famous Flemington Racecourse. The only elite level race at the meeting the weight-for-age showdown is worth $750,000 and often attracts horses that ran in the season’s first Group 1, the Memsie Stakes at Caulfield a fortnight before. The last horse to complete the Memsie Stakes – Makybe Diva Stakes double was Dissident (2014), a popular early spring racing bet with the punters.

Inaugurated in 1948 when Lungi won, Cosmic Court (1949) won the second edition of the Makybe Diva Stakes when it was known as the Craiglee Stakes. It was renamed in honour of superstar mare and three time Melbourne Cup winner Makybe Diva in 2007 and has held Group 1 status since 2013. Other notable Makybe Diva Stakes winners over the years include Shocking (2010), Weekend Hussler (2008), Northerly (2002), Jeune (1995), Zabeel (1990) and Rose Of Kingston (1982).

This year the Makybe Diva Stakes runs on Saturday September 15, 2018.

2018 Makybe Diva Stakes Results

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

Makybe Diva Stakes Race Info

  • Date: Saturday September 15, 2018
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse
  • Distance: 1600m
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age
  • Status: Group 1
  • Prize Money: $750,000
  • First Run: 1948

Makybe Diva Stakes Betting & Odds

Makybe Diva Stakes betting markets usually have horses that come via the Memsie Stakes two weeks earlier at the top of the odds with Dissident (2014) the last galloper to complete the double. The other horse in the past 10 years to win both the Memsie Stakes and Makybe Diva Stakes was Weekend Hussler (2008).

Favourites have a poor recent record with just two saluting in the past 10 years – the aforementioned Dissident and Weekend Hussler. There has been plenty of upsets in the meantime including 40/1 shot Littorio getting the job done in 2011 so looking further down the Makybe Diva Stakes odds for a value bet is always worth doing.

2018 Makybe Diva Stakes Odds

The latest Makybe Diva Stakes 2018 betting odds and links to our Group 1 spring racing markets will be available here once open. Makybe Diva Stakes Tips

Makybe Diva Stakes tips often predict an upset result with double-figure runners boasting a good record in the race over the past decade or so. Horses that ran well in their lead-up races also tend to dominate Group 1 spring racing predictions as there have been three last start winners to take out the Memsie Stakes since 2008. Inside barriers have produced four of the five Makybe Diva Stakes winners from 2012 -2016, but tipping isn’t led by gate positions as in recent years Littorio (14 in 2011) and Vigor (11 in 2009) have overcome wide barriers to salute in the feature.

Makybe Diva Stakes Field

The Makybe Diva Stakes field has a capacity of 16 starters and was last run at that maximum number in 2010 when Shocking beat home his 15 rivals. Final Makybe Diva Stakes acceptances are taken on the Wednesday before the race runs that Saturday and only once since 1997 have there been under 10 starters in the race when Marasco (2007) had just seven rivals to defeat in an eight-starter field.

Makybe Diva Stakes betting at Ladbrokes

Dissident (inside) led Makybe Diva Stakes betting and was the last favourite to salute for the punters back in 2014. Photo Credit: Race Horse Photos Australia.

Horses may come into the Makbe Diva Stakes field on the back of a first-up run in the Memsie Stakes, or many stayers kick off their spring bids in the race on way to longer distance features at the carnival including Group 1 Underwood Stakes (1800m) a fortnight later on the AFL Grand Final long weekend.

2018 Makybe Diva Stakes Field

The official Makybe Diva Stakes 2018 Final Field & Barriers are set for release on Wednesday September 13, 2017 and will be published in full below so stay tuned to see the gallopers that are set to line-up in the mile Flemington classic.

2018 Makybe Diva Stakes Nominations

The Makybe Diva Stakes Nominations for 2018 close on Monday September 11, 2017 at midday and the full list of early entries for the second Group 1 of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival will be detailed below.

2018 Makybe Diva Stakes Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Makybe Diva Stakes 2018 betting tips will be detailed below the week of the race so stay tuned to see what milers and stayers to back and sack in the Flemington Group 1 race this season.

Makybe Diva Stakes Form Guide

The Makybe Diva Stakes form guide lists basic info like the saddlecloth numbers, barriers, jockeys and trainers of all the horses lining up in the field. Jockey Craig Williams has won two editions of the race aboard Littorio (2011) and Adelaide mare Southern Speed (2012) in the past decade, so looking for the horse he rides in the form guide could be a nice bet. You can also see the lead-up form as well as the track and distance records of the runners.

Makybe Diva Stakes Form Facts

  • Single-digit Makybe Diva Stakes barriers produced four of the six winners from 2012 – 2017
  • Southern Speed (2012) is the only Makybe Diva Stakes winning mare to beat home the boys since 1996
  • Favourites in Makybe Diva Stakes betting have a poor recent record with just two saluting from 2008 – 2017
  • The Memsie Stakes is a key lead-up producing three of the four Makybe Diva winners from 2014 – 2017 including Dissident (2014) who did the double and Humidor (2017) who improved on a lead-up eighth to defeat that year’s odds-on favourite Hartnell

Makybe Diva Stakes Results

The Makybe Diva Stakes results are known when the race runs late on the Flemington race card on Makybe Diva Stakes Day and show not only the winning trifecta for exotic bets but the exact finishing order of all the runners as well as any scratched horses, plus the winning time and margin for the record books.

There have been plenty of recent upset Makybe Diva Stakes results including big odds on offer for Humidor ($7 in 2017), Foreteller ($15 in 2013) and Littorio ($41 in 2011). Mares have a poor record in the Makybe Diva Stakes race results with just the one win since 1996, while just two eight-year-olds have won the race in over 30 years with Hugs Dancer (2004) and Fawkner (2015).

2018 Makybe Diva Stakes Results

The official Makybe Diva Stakes 2018 Results & Finishing Order will be available below once the race is run and won on Saturday September 15, 2018.

Makybe Diva Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2017 Humidor Hartnell Black Heart Bart 1:35.3
2016 Palentino Black Heart Bart He Or She 1:36.2
2015 Fawkner Rising Romance Entirely Platinum 1:37.9
2014 Dissident Fawkner Puissance De Lune 1:36.9
2013 Foreteller Puissance De Lune Moudre 1:37.0
2012 Southern Speed Manighar Moudre 1:37.8
2011 Littorio Glass Harmonium Midas Touch 1:37.8
2010 Shocking Heart Of Dreams Vigor 1:41.7
2009 Vigor Typhoon Tracy Master O’Reilly 1:35.8
2008 Weekend Hussler Zarita Littorio 1:38.6
2007 Marasco Apache Cat Zipping 1:36.7
2006 Pompeii Ruler Sphenophyta Zipping 1:38.5
2005 Confectioner Free At Last Our Smoking Joe 1:35.8
2004 Hugs Dancer Elvstoem Zagalia 1:38.2
2003 Pentastic Walk On Air Mummify 1:37.2
2002 Northerly Le Zagaletta Silver Baron 1:37.9
2001 Native Jazz Aka Bilk Universal Prince 1:37.4
2000 Go Flash Go Oliver Twist Showella 1:42.1