Big Bash League Teams 2018/19

The annual Big Bash League (BBL) cricket tournament is one of Australia’s most attended and bet on sporting events each summer and there are eight BBL teams that fight for the Twenty20 title each season.

Running over December – January / February of the following year during an entertaining eight group round, three Big Bash semi-final knock-outs format, the BBL fixtures attract the best cricketers from around Australia as well as big-name international signings.

The eight current Big Bash League teams are all based in Australia’s capital cities with two hailing from Sydney, two from Melbourne and one each for Adelaide, Brisbane, Hobart and Perth. The KFC-sponsored BBL Twenty20 competition was inaugurated in 2011-12 and in that time there have been five BBL teams to take out the title including the Perth Scorchers who went back-to-back in 2013-14 and 2014-15 before taking out a third BBL championship in 2016-17.

The Scorchers have also made the Big Bash finals every year making them the most successful team in the popular Australian domestic cricket tournament. The other four Big Bash teams to win the competition are the Sydney Sixers (2011-12), the Brisbane Heat (2012-13), the Sydney Thunder (2015-16) who won by three wickets to defeat the Melbourne Stars at the MCG in the final that season and the Adelaide Strikers (2017-18) who beat the Hobart Hurricanes in the Big Bash Final.

Some of the Big Bash League team restrictions include each franchise having a maximum of 18 contracted players, at least two rookie contracts and a maximum of two foreign players in the line-up.

BBL odds on each team to win the Twenty20 Big Bash are open from mid-way through the year with futures cricket betting markets open on the outright winner.

Below is a comprehensive look at all eight of the Big Bash League teams (alphabetically) in the tournament complete with founding years, BBL team colours, and current coaches and captains.

Adelaide Strikers

The Adelaide Strikers’ inaugural captain Michael Klinger held the Big Bash League batting record of most runs (1,802) after the 2017-18 Big Bash Season. They twice finished runners-up in the comp (2014-15 and 2015-16) before scoring their first Big Bash Championship with a victory over the Hobart Hurricanes in 2018.

  • City/State Adelaide, South Australia
  • Founded: 2011
  • Home Ground (Capacity) Adelaide Oval (53,583)
  • Mascots: Smash and Summer
  • Captain: Travis Head
  • Coach: Jason Gillespie
  • Colours: Cornflower Blue
  • BBL Wins: 1 (2017-18)
  • BBL Runners-Up: 2 (2014-15, 2015-16)

Brisbane Heat

The Brisbane Heat enjoyed a Big Bash League Championship title in 2012-13, but finished bottom of the BBL ladder the following season. They have a rivalry going with the Hobart Hurricanes who they have faced off more than any other side. In 2015-16 following his retirement from the game, New Zealand imported player Daniel Vettori became the Heat’s coach on a three-year contract.

  • City/State Brisbane, Queensland
  • Founded: 2011
  • Home Ground (Capacity) The Gabba or Brisbane Cricket Ground (42,000)
  • Mascots: Heater
  • Captain: Brendon McCullum
  • Coach: Daniel Vettori
  • Colours: Teal
  • BBL Wins: 1 (2012-13)
  • BBL Runners-Up: 0

Hobart Hurricanes

The Hobart Hurricanes boast the Big Bash League team record of highest total score of 210/7 (19.2) against the Brisbane Heat on December 28, 2013. While yet to win a BBL competition, the Hurricanes finished runner-up to the Perth Scorchers in the 2013-14 season at the WACA Ground and again in 2017-18 when losing the Big Bash Final to the Adelaide Strikers.

  • City/State Hobart, Tasmania
  • Founded: 2011
  • Home Ground (Capacity): Blundstone Arena (19,500)
  • Mascots: Captain Hurricane
  • Captain: George Bailey
  • Coach: Gary Kirsten
  • Colours: Purple
  • BBL Wins: 0
  • BBL Runners-Up: 2 (2013-14, 2017-18)

Melbourne Renegades

The Renegades BBL team are one of two from the city of Melbourne competing in the competition and matches played between them and the Stars are known as Melbourne derbies, attracting massive crowds. The Melbourne Renegades attracted their highest home game attendance of 42,837 in their third season during one of these derbies. The team’s official mascot is Sledge, a futuristic cricket player from the year 2020.

  • City/State Melbourne, Victoria
  • Founded: 2011
  • Home Ground (Capacity) Docklands Stadium (56,347)
  • Mascots: Sledge
  • Captain: Aaron Finch
  • Coach: Andrew McDonald
  • Colours: Red
  • BBL Wins: 1 (2018-19)
  • BBL Runners-Up: 0

Melbourne Stars

The Melbourne Stars are the second Melbourne-based Big Bash team in the tournament and play the Renegades in highly-anticipated Melbourne derbies each season. Their home ground of the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) is the world’s largest cricket stadium with a capacity of over 100,000. English import Luke Wright played for the Stars from 2011-2018 and with the club set a number of BBL records including the most runs (1336).

  • City/State Melbourne, Victoria
  • Founded: 2011
  • Home Ground (Capacity) Melbourne Cricket Ground (100,024)
  • Mascots: Starman and Scarlet
  • Captain: John Hastings
  • Coach: Stephen Flemming
  • Colours: Green
  • BBL Wins: 0
  • BBL Runners-Up: 1 (2015-16, 2018-19)

Perth Scorchers

The Perth Scorchers are currently the only Big Bash team to score more than one BBL Championships having gone back-to-back in 2013-14 and 2014-15 then taking out a third in the 2016-17 BBL season. They have made the finals in all seven seasons making them the most successful BBL team in history.

  • City/State Perth, Western Australia
  • Founded: 2011
  • Home Ground (Capacity): The WACA (22,000)
  • Mascots: Blaze
  • Captain: Adam Voges
  • Coach: Justin Langer
  • Colours: Orange
  • BBL Wins: 3 (2013-14, 2014-15, 2016-17)
  • BBL Runners-Up: 2 (2011-12, 2012-13)

Sydney Sixers

The Sydney Sixers are one of two BBL teams from NSW’s capital city and matches played against the Sydney Thunder are known as Sydney derbies. Their other major BBL rivalry is with the Perth Scorchers. The team colour of pink is related to the McGrath Foundation. Nic Maddinson holds the club record for most runs  from 2011 – 2018 (1408), while the team’s bowling record of most wickets is held by Sean Abbott (2014-18) with 53 wickets in 40 matches.

  • City/State Sydney, NSW
  • Founded: 2011
  • Home Ground (Capacity): Sydney Cricket Ground (48,601)
  • Mascots: Sid
  • Captain: Moises Henriques
  • Coach: Greg Shippers
  • Colours: Magenta
  • BBL Wins: 1 (2011-12)
  • BBL Runners-Up: 2 (2013-14, 2016-17)

Sydney Thunder

The Thunder are the second Sydney-based Big Bash team and matches played against their rivals the Sixers are known as Sydney derbies. They and the Sydney Sixers are successors of the New South Wales Blues. Over BBL history the Thunder have been one of the worst performed teams, but atoned in the 2015-16 season taking out the championship in their maiden Big Bash finals appearance.

  • City/State Sydney, NSW
  • Founded: 2011
  • Home Ground (Capacity): Spotless Stadium (21,500)
  • Mascots: Thor
  • Captain: Shane Watson
  • Coach: Paddy Upton
  • Colours: Electric Green
  • BBL Wins: 1 (2015-16)
  • BBL Runners-Up: 0