World Cup Final 2018

The 2018 World Cup Final is scheduled to take place on Monday July 16, 2018 at 1:00am (AEST)

After the FIFA World Cup Group Stage and Knockout Stage are complete, the two remaining nations will fight it out in the official Soccer World Cup Final held in 2018 at Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow, Russia.

For Australian fans, the date for the World Cup 2018 Final is set for Monday July 16, 2018 at 1:00am (AEST). Locally in Moscow, the World Cup Final kick-off time is 6pm on Sunday July 15, 2018.

The FIFA World Cup Final decides the winning nation of the World Cup, the greatest football tournament taking place every four years.

The 2018 World Cup Final winners gain automatic qualification for the 2012 FIFA Confederations Cup.

The World Cup Final teams are determined during the two FIFA World Cup Semi Finals Fixtures that take place on Wednesday July 11, 2018 and Thursday July 12, 2018 (AEST) at Saint Petersburg and Moscow respectively.

The location for the 2018 World Cup Final, Luzhniki Stadium, was famously host to the 1980 Summer Olympics.

Betting on the World Cup Final is open months in advance of the event. FIFA World Cup Final odds have prices offered on all 32 competing nations.

Early on, fans can also bet on the World Cup Teams to Reach the World Cup Final and soccer odds are also available for punters to Name the World Cup Finalists, for example, Brazil vs Germany.

2018 FIFA World Cup Final

  • Date in Australia: Monday July 16, 2018 @ 1:00am (AEST)
  • Date in Moscow: Sunday July 15, 2018 @ 6:00pm (MSK)
  • Venue: Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow, Russia
  • Teams: Determined during the FIFA World Cup Semi Finals held on Wednesday July 11 and Thursday July 12, 2018 (AEST)

The FIFA World Cup Final 2018 pits the two semi-final winners against each other for the title of World Cup Champions. The game goes for 90 minutes of standard time, plus 30 minutes of extra time if needed. Match rules for the Soccer World Cup Final also feature penalty shoot-out if the scores are still level after 30 minutes of extra time.

The past three World Cup Final matches (2014, 2010 and 2006) all went into overtime and the 2006 World Cup Final between Italy and France saw a 1-1 draw after extra time, forcing the game into a penalty shoot-out that Italy won 5-3.

Over World Cup Final history there have been eight World Cup Champion nations to win the final match of the competition.

Brazil hold the World Cup Final record of five victories, followed by Italy (4) and Germany (4).

Previous World Cup Final Results

Year Winning World Cup Team Final Score World Cup Runners-Up Venue Location Attendance
1930 Uruguay 4–2 Argentina Estadio Centenario Montevideo, Uruguay 80,000
1934 Italy 2–1 (1-1 after 90 minutes) Czechoslovakia Stadio Nazionale PNF Rome, Italy 50,000
1938 Italy 4–2 Hungary Stade Olympique de Colombes Paris, France 45,000
1950* Uruguay 2–1 Brazil Estádio do Maracanã Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 199,854
1954 West Germany 3–2 Hungary Wankdorf Stadium Bern, Switzerland 60,000
1958 Brazil 5–2 Sweden Råsunda Stadium Solna, Sweden 51,800
1962 Brazil 3–1 Czechoslovakia Estadio Nacional Santiago, Chile 69,000
1966 England 4–2 (2-2 after 90 minutes) West Germany Wembley Stadium London, England 93,000
1970 Brazil 4–1 Italy Estadio Azteca Mexico City, Mexico 107,412
1974 West Germany 2–1 Netherlands Olympiastadion Munich, West Germany 75,200
1978 Argentina 3–1 (1-1 after 90 minutes) Netherlands Estadio Monumental Buenos Aires, Argentina 71,483
1982 Italy 3–1 West Germany Santiago Bernabéu Madrid, Spain 90,000
1986 Argentina 3–2 West Germany Estadio Azteca Mexico City, Mexico 114,600
1990 West Germany 1–0 Argentina Stadio Olimpico Rome, Italy 73,603
1994 Brazil 0–0 (0-0 after 120 minutes. Brazil won 3-2 on penalties) Italy Rose Bowl Pasadena (Los Angeles),California, United States 94,194
1998 France 3–0 Brazil Stade de France Saint-Denis (Paris), France 80,000
2002 Brazil 2–0 Germany International Stadium Yokohama Yokohama, Japan 69,029
2006 Italy 1–1 (1-1 after 120 minutes. Italy won 5-3 o penalties) France Olympiastadion Berlin, Germany 69,000
2010 Spain 1–0 (0-0 after 90 minutes) Netherlands Soccer City Johannesburg, South Africa 84,490
2014 Germany 1–0 (0-0 after 90 minutes) Argentina Estádio do Maracanã Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 74,738
2018 France 4-2 Croatia Luzhniki Stadium Moscow, Russia 78,011

*The 1950 FIFA World Cup was not decided in a single final match. Instead, that year’s World Cup Championship was deiced by a 4-team round robin tournament.