Tattersall’s Cup 2022

Saturday June 25th, 2022

Ladbrokes Tip: Looking for proven stayers coming off strong lead-up wins in Brisbane or Sydney is key to tipping the Tattersall’s Cup winner.

The Tattersall’s Cup is held on the final Group 1 race meeting of the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival – Tattersall’s Tiara Day – taking place on a Saturday in late June at Brisbane’s Eagle Farm Racecourse.

A set weights plus penalties event now contested over 2400m, the race has been held over a huge range of distances including a gruelling 3000m in 2019 and has been run and won since 1924.

The Tattersall’s Cup currently offers a total of $200,000 in prize money and attracts a strong line-up of winter stayers each year. It takes place on the same day as the $600,000 Group 1 Tattersall’s Tiara (1400m) for fillies and mares and the $175,000 Group 3 WJ Healy Stakes (1200m) for the sprinters.

Plenty of nice horses have won the Tattersall’s Cup over the years including subsequent Melbourne Cup champions Vow And Declare (2019) and Kensei (1987).

The Tattersall’s Cup also serves as a nice early lead-up into the spring’s Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m).

In 2021, the historic 12-length Tattersall’s Cup winner Incentivise would go on to win the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m), Group 1 Turnbull Stakes (2000m) and Group 1 Caulfield Cup that spring in Melbourne before a second to Verry Elleegant in the Melbourne Cup quinella.

The next edition of the Tattersall’s Cup runs on Saturday June 25th, 2022.

2022 Tattersall’s Cup Results

The official Tattersall’s Cup 2022 Results & Finishing Order will be available below once the Group 3 Brisbane race is run and won on Saturday June 25th, 2022.

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

Tattersall’s Cup Race Info

  • Date: Saturday June 25th, 2022
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse
  • Distance: 2400m
  • Conditions: Set Weights plus Penalties
  • Status: Group 3
  • Prize Money: $200,000
  • First Run: 1924

Tattersall’s Cup Betting

The Tattersall’s Cup betting markets are dominated by in-form winter stayers coming off good lead-up runs in events such as the Group 2 Brisbane Cup (3000m) or three-year-olds out of the Group 1 Queensland Derby (2400m). Vow And Declare (2nd in 2019) was the last Tattersall’s Cup winner to come off a Queensland Derby lead-up.

Favourites have a solid strike-rate in the race with Vow And Declare ($3 in 2019) followed by 12-length winner Incentivise ($1.40 in 2021) the latest to salute for the punters.

2022 Tattersall’s Cup Odds

The latest Tattersall’s Cup 2022 betting odds will be provided below as soon as markets on the end-of-carnival event in Brisbane over the winter are announced.

Tattersall’s Cup Field

Tattersall's Cup Winners - Vow And Declare | Photo: Steve Hart | Ladbrokes.com.au
Vow And Declare (pictured winning the 2019 Melbourne Cup) is one of the best known recent Tattersall’s Cup winners. Photo: Steve Hart.

The Tattersall’s Cup field draws a quality line-up of winter stayers from both local and interstate stables.

Runners may come via a number of different lead-up races including the Brisbane Cup, Queensland Derby or for the fillies the Queensland Oaks.

Doomben’s Group 3 Chairman’s Handicap serves as another potential lead-up with Brimham Rocks (9th in 2020) the last Tattersall’s Cup winner to come out of that race.

For any stayers racing on before the spring carnivals, the Listed Caloundra Cup (2400m) can make a nice next-up option.

Tattersall’s Cup nominations close the Monday of race week with final acceptances revealing the field released on the Wednesday before the race runs on the Saturday.

2022 Tattersall’s Cup Field

The official Tattersall’s Cup 2022 field of final acceptors is announced by Racing Queensland  on the Wednesday of race week and will be published below along with the confirmed jockeys and barriers

2022 Tattersall’s Cup Nominations

Early Tattersall’s Cup 2022 Nominations close the Monday leading-up to Tattersall’s Tiara Day, which is the last major event of the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival, and will be provided in full below.

Tattersall’s Cup Form Guide

The Tattersall’s Cup form guide lists for punters all the crucial pre-betting information like the jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up runs of the female sprinters in the field.

Runners trained outside of Brisbane have a credible recent record the race, so looking at the interstate runners with a lead-up run in Queensland is essential when doing the Tattersall’s Cup form.

2022 Tattersall’s Cup Form

A link to our comprehensive Tattersall’s Cup 2022 form guide and race betting preview will be provided for punters below the week of the event.

Tattersall’s Cup Tips

Tattersall’s Cup tips include looking for in-form winter stayers coming off a win in a Brisbane race, graduates that finished in the money in the Brisbane Cup and tipping single-figure fancies.

No Tattersall’s Cup winner has jumped at double-figures in betting since the shock win by The Inventor at 40/1 in 2014.

2022 Tattersall’s Cup Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ exclusive Tattersall’s Cup 2022 betting tips on the Group 3 race at the end of the Brisbane winter racing season will be detailed below the week of the race so, stay tuned for those to back and sack this season.

Tattersall’s Cup Results

The Tattersall’s Cup results show a dominant record by Sydney-trained horses including two recent victories for trainer Chris Waller with Brimham Rocks (2020) and Index Linked (2016).

Tattersall’s Cup Winners

2021IncentiviseSteve TregeaAnthony Allen55 kgs2:29.76 (over 2,400m)
2020Brimham RocksChris WallerRyan Maloney57 kgs2:29.23 (over 2,400m)
2019Vow And DeclareDanny O’BrienGlen Boss54 kgs3:09.85 (over 3,000m)
2018Divine UnicornMatthew DunnJim Byrne54 kgs2:14.75
2017RudyHelen PageTim Clark59.5 kgs2:18.18
2016Index LinkedChris WallerHugh Bowman57 kgs2:20.44
2015EscadoMatt LaurieBen Melham56.5 kgs2:33.99
2014The InventorBevan LamingTegan Harrison54 kgs2:17.73
2013RialyaLloyd KennewellJoe Bowditch54.5 kgs2:19.64
2012Ginga DudeGraeme BoydHugh Bowman59 kgs2:16.86
2011IronsteinGerald RyanBrenton Avdulla58 kgs2:15.41
2010MirrasaloPaul MessaraDwayne Dunn55 kgs2:16.87
2009HumeBrian SmithScott Galloway53 kgs2:14.58
2008BallackDanny O’BrienStephen Baster53 kgs2:21.63
2007Ice ChariotRon MaundStathi Katsidis58 kgs2:14.46
2006Ring Of FireDonna LoganStathi Katsidis56 kgs2:19.75
2005Sky LovePeter MoodyNeil Jolly52 kgs2:17.90
2004AcetateJim ConlanRhys McLeod52 kgs2:16.40
2003BelusRobert SmerdonMark Zahra52 kgs2:13.90
2002Captain TestJohn MorishPaul Hammersley52 kgs2:16.00
2001Spirit Of WestburyCliff BrownBrett Prebble54 kgs2:13.50
2000Brave PrinceSterling M SmithJames Innes55.5 kgs2:14.30