Golden Rose Stakes 2017


Ladbrokes Tip: 3YOs that ran in the Golden Slipper as a juvenile have a good record in the Golden Rose Stakes each spring

The Golden Rose Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age contest for three-year-old horses that is the opening Group 1 race during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. The Golden Rose is the first Group 1 event for three-year-olds every racing season and can be a key form reference for the Caulfield Guineas, Thousand Guineas and Coolmore Stud Stakes later in the Spring Racing Carnival. The Golden Rose has only been a Group 1 event since 2009, but the honor roll already includes the like of Forensics, Denman, Toorak Toff, Epaulette, Zoustar and Hallowed Crown.

This year the Golden Rose will be run on September, 2017.

Golden Rose Stakes Field

The field is released on the Tuesday morning before the race and features a capacity field of 18 runners plus four emergencies. The Golden Rose Stakes has not had a capacity field in recent years and there were only six runners in the race when Manawanui took out the 2011 edition.

Golden Rose Stakes Betting & Odds

The Golden Rose Stakes is generally a difficult betting race and favourites have generally struggled in recent years. Duporth and Denman won the race as favourites in back-to-back years in 2008 and 2009, but since then no favourite has saluted. Wide barriers have not proven an issue in the Golden Rose Stakes and both Zoustar and Hallowed Crown won the event despite jumping from the extreme outside of the field.

Golden Rose Stakes Tips

The Golden Rose Stakes is one of the most highly anticipated events during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival and because of this the majority of racing experts have a set of Golden Rose Stakes tips every year. Horses generally come from both Sydney and Melbourne to contest the Golden Rose Stakes and there are often plenty of different form lines converging in the Group 1 event.

Golden Rose Stakes Form Guide

The Golden Rose Stakes form guide is highly sought after heading into the Group 1 event and is key reading to find the winner of the race. The Run To The Rose is the major lead-up to the Golden Rose and it has produced the past three winners of the race, but the Up And Coming Stakes and the Vain Stakes have also produced winners of the race in the past decade. Four of the past six winners of the Golden Rose Stakes have been last start winners and no winner has finished outside the top four since the race was renamed.

Golden Rose Stakes Results

The Mackinnon Stakes results will be available at just after 4.25pm (AEDT) on the second Saturday every year and is generally race seven on the Rosehill Gardens card. As well as listing the complete Golden Rose Stakes finishing order, our results will show the trainer and jockey of each horse, the weight they carried in the race, the margin between every horse and their starting price in the betting markets.

2016 Golden Rose Stakes Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 1 ASTERN John O’Shea James McDonald 12 56.5kg $3.20F
2 13 OMEI SWORD Chris Waller Joao Moreira 2.3L 3 54.5kg $4.40
3 7 IMPENDING John O’Shea Brenton Avdulla 2.5L 2 56.5kg $11
4 4 DIVINE PROPHET Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 2.8L 10 56.5kg $9
5 3 GOOD STANDING James Cummings Glyn Schofield 2.9L 6 56.5kg $51
6 12 YANKEE ROSE David Vandyke Zac Purton 3.5L 9 54.5kg $5
7 2 EL DIVINO Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Hugh Bowman 4.9L 4 56.5kg $17
8 9 MEDITERRANEAN Peter & Paul Snowden Blake Shinn 5L 5 56.5kg $21
9 11 CHAMALU (NZ) Liam Birchley James Orman (a) 5.5L 1 56.5kg $101
10 8 DERRYN David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Tim Clark 5.6L 7 56.5kg $18
11 10 OINK Kelly Schweida Paul Hammersley 6.2L 11 56.5kg $101
12 6 THRONUM Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Kerrin McEvoy 6.4L 13 56.5kg $31
13 5 NIKITAS Chris Waller Tye Angland 8L 8 56.5kg $51
14 14 O’REILLY CYRUS (NZ) Liam Birchley Jason Collett 9.1L 14 54.5kg $101

Golden Rose Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Astern Omei Sword Impending 1:23.9
2015 Exosphere Speak Fondly Sebring Sun 1:21.8
2014 Hallowed Crown Scissor Kick Shooting To Win 1:24.0
2013 Zoustar Dissident Bull Point 1:22.5
2012 Epaulette Albrecht Ashokan 1:22.3
2011 Manawanui Smart Missile Helmet 1:23.3
2010 Toorak Toff Squamosa Ilovethiscity 1:21.9
2009 Denman Trusting Stryker 1:22.8
2008 Forensics El Cambio Kingda Ka 1:22.4
2008 Duporth Stripper Desuetude 1:23.8
2007 Race not run
2006 Court Command Empires Choice Mentality 1:23.1
2005 Paratroopers Racing To Win Pendragon 1:23.5
2004 Doonan Al Maher Lieutenant 1:23.1
2003 In Top Swing Handsome Ransom Ashenti 1:24.0