NRL 2017

The NRL or National Rugby League is the leading Rugby League competition anywhere in the world.

Featuring 15 NRL teams from around Australia and one from New Zealand, the Telstra NRL Premiership season runs from early March until the first Sunday of October when the NRL Grand Final draws record crowds in attendance and nationwide viewership.

NRL history shows the competition as we know it started as the NSWRL (New South Wales Rugby League) in 1908 before the current NRL formation was created post-Super League War in 1998. States in Australia represented in the NRL team lists are: New South Wales (10), Queensland (3), Victoria (1) and Canberra (1). The 16th team in the NRL is the New Zealand Warriors.

NRL Betting: Round 9 Preview

Round 9 of the 2017 NRL Telstra Premiership begins with the return of Thursday night footy with the Broncos back in peak form at Suncorp chasing a fourth win on the trot against the Panthers. The Bunnies take on Manly in the first on Friday night before the Cowboys host fellow Round 8 winners the Eels up in NQ. Saturday the Titans at home are clear favourites to continue their season resurgence over the Knights, before the Bulldogs take on the Raiders in an ANZ Stadium blockbuster. The Sharks will be out to atone for their upset loss to the Gold Coast playing the Tigers at Leichhardt, while the third-ranked Roosters are favourites across the Tasman on Sunday afternoon to beat the Warriors. The round concludes with the week highlight, an incredible 2nd vs 1st top of the table clash between the Dragons and Storm.

  • Round: 9
  • Starts: Thursday April 27, 2017
  • Ends: Sunday April 30, 2017
  • No. of Games: 8
  • Round Highlight: Dragons v Storm – BET NOW
  • Round Tip: Roosters to beat the Warriors @$1.80 – BET NOW

The current NRL teams are the:

  • Brisbane Broncos
  • Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
  • Canberra Raiders
  • Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
  • Gold Coast Titans
  • Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles
  • Melbourne Storm
  • Newcastle Knights
  • New Zealand Warriors
  • Parramatta Eels
  • Penrith Panthers
  • South Sydney Rabbitohs
  • St George Illawarra Dragons,
  • Sydney Roosters
  • Wests Tigers
  • North Queensland Cowboys
NRL Premiership Winners

The Cronulla Sharks celebrated their first NRL Premiership in 2016

Of these the two foundation NRL clubs inaugurated in 1908 are the Sydney Roosters and the South Sydney Rabbitohs. The Wests Tigers, founded in 2000, meanwhile comprise of two other foundations clubs that merged together: Western Suburbs Magpies and Balmain Tigers.

The NRL Premiership is composed of a 26-week regular season and the NRL Draw – what teams are playing when and where – is usually announced in November of the previous year. The 26 NRL Rounds are followed by four exciting weeks of NRL Finals football pitting the eight highest placed teams on the NRL Ladder up against each other across August – September.

The NRL Grand Final then decides the Premiership Winners for that season in a do-or-die 80 minutes of Rugby League action. As well as the standard, finals and grand final season there is also representative NRL football played during that time headlined by the three match State Of Origin series between the Queensland Maroons and the New South Wales Blues.

2017 NRL Season

The 2017 NRL Season kicks off with Round 1 on Thursday March 2, 2017. The regular NRL 2017 season finishes-up with Round 26 in late September before the 2017 NRL Grand Final decides the season’s premiership winners on Sunday October 1.

  • 2017 NRL Round 1 Starts: Thursday March 2, 2017
  • 2017 NRL Grand Final Date: Sunday October 1, 2017

Other representative NRL games played are the Trans-Tasman test and the City-Country clash.

Since the current NRL format was inaugurated in 1998 the team with the most NRL Premiership wins is the Brisbane Broncos with 3 in total (1998, 2000, 2006). The Broncos were also NRL Grand Final runners-up to the North Queensland Cowboys in 2015. Four-time Grand Final NRL winners the Melbourne Storm (1999, 2007, 2009, 2012) were stripped of their 2007 and 2009 Premierships titles due to breaches of the salary cap.

NRL betting is some of the best sports betting punters can enjoy with odds open on everything from the overall NRL Premiership winner to round-by-round markets. Some of the most anticipated NRL odds are those offered on the Clive Churchill Medal, the award given to the player deemed to be that year’s NRL Grand Final man-of-the-match.