Bobbie Lewis Quality 2021

Saturday September 11, 2021

Ladbrokes Tip: The Bobbie Lewis is a nice lead-up to the Group 1 sprints in Melbourne over the spring

The Bobbie Lewis Quality is a Group 2 sprint held at Flemington Racecourse on Makybe Diva Stakes Day during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Run on a Saturday in early to mid-September each year, the quality handicap clash is open to horses aged four-years-old and above and is contested over 1200m.

The event is held at the same meeting as the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m), Group 2 Danehill Stakes (1200m) and the Group 2 Let’s Elope Stakes (1400m). Offering $300,000 in total prize money as of 2021, the Bobbie Lewis Quality is a good lead-up race into the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield later in September. The last galloper to complete the Bobbie Lewis Quality – Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes double was Bon Hoffa (2007).

It is also a nice lead-up to the Group 1 sprint races over the carnival including the Group 1 VRC Sprint Classic (1200m) back at HQ over the Cup Carnival.

The next edition of the Bobbie Lewis Quality runs on Saturday September 11, 2021. 

2021 Bobbie Lewis Quality Results

The official Bobbie Lewis Quality results for 2021 and complete finishing order on the Group 2 event will be available below once the race is run and won on Saturday September 11, 2021.

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

Bobbie Lewis Quality Race Info

  • Date: Saturday September 11, 2021
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse
  • Distance: 1200m
  • Conditions: 4YOs + Up – Quality Handicap
  • Status: Group 2
  • Prize Money: $300,000
  • First Run: 1974

Bobbie Lewis Quality Odds

Bobbie Lewis Quality betting is led each spring by class sprinters with good lead-up form in similar company Melbourne races. Horses with proven ability down the Flemington straight and in tougher class races from other campaigns also sit high up the Bobbie Lewis Quality odds.

Single-figure hopefuls have a good Bobbie Lewis Quality record, but outsiders have also proved value bets in recent years including Speediness ($20 in 2013) and Lone Rock ($21 in 2011).

The latest favourites in Bobbie Lewis Quality betting to salute for the punters are Redkirk Warrior ($4 in 2017) followed by Zoutori ($4.60EF in 2020).

2021 Bobbie Lewis Quality Betting

The top Bobbie Lewis Quality 2021 odds for this season along with direct links to our top Flemington racing markets will be available below the week of the race so stay tuned to get behind your favourite spring sprinters.

Bobbie Lewis Quality Field

The Bobbie Lewis Quality field attracts a line-up of the spring’s top sprinters and middle-distance gallopers. Many come off earlier spring runs in Melbourne in lead-up races like the Group 3 The Heath 1100 (1100m) at Caulfield the previous month.

Another possible lead-up run is the Group 3 Aurie’s Star Handicap (1200m) over the same track / distance a month before. In 2013 Temple Of Boom ran second in both the Aurie’s Star and the Bobbie Lewis Quality, he was also runner-up in the 2014 Bobbie Lewis Quality.

Bobbie Lewis Quality racing odds online at

Chautauqua (2014) is one of the most famous Bobbie Lewis Quality winners. Photo Credit: Steve Hart.

Runners out of the Bobbie Lewis Quality field often back-up in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes or are saved for the Group 2 Gilgai Stakes (1200m) the next month back at Flemington.

Zoutori (2020) was the last horse to do the Bobbie Lewis Quality – Gilgai Stakes double having also won the 2019 edition of the Bobbie Lewis.

In 2015 Under The Louvre ran second to Churchill Dancer in the Bobbie Lewis before a third in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes. The previous year Chautauqua won the Bobbie Lewis Quality – Gilgai Stakes double before a subsequent second in the Group 1 VRC Sprint Classic (1200m) that November.

2021 Bobbie Lewis Quality Field

The official Bobbie Lewis Quality 2021 Final Field & Barrier Draw will be provided below as soon as released by Racing Victoria on the Wednesday leading-up to race day.

2021 Bobbie Lewis Quality Nominations

The Bobbie Lewis Quality nominations for 2021 close on the Monday leading-up to Makybe Diva Stakes Day and will be available below in full.

Bobbie Lewis Quality Form Guide

The Bobbie Lewis Quality form guide details crucial information like the jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up runs of all the horses in the race. Check the guide for horses coming off a last start run in the top three and those whose records over the track / distance are solid.

The Bobbie Lewis Quality form has stacked up in better spring races many times over the years including the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes, a Group 1 race Toorak Toff won in 2011 after a first-up fifth to Lone Rock in the Bobbie Lewis that season.

The next year (2012), We’re Gonna Rock won the Bobbie Lewis before a second in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes and third at Moonee Valley in the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m).

More recently the 2017 Bobbie Lewis Quality winner Redkirk Warrior went on to win the following autumn’s Group 1 Black Caviar Lightning – Newmarket Handicap double at Flemington.

Dual Bobbie Lewis Quality champion Zoutori (2019, 2020) also franked the form the next year taking out the Group 1 Newmarket in 2021.

2021 Bobbie Lewis Quality Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Bobbie Lewis Quality 2021 Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

Bobbie Lewis Quality Tips

Bobbie Lewis Quality tips include looking for sprinters with previous winning form at Flemington down the famous straight track, in-form runners coming off nice runs in late winter / early spring and those with a good 1200m record. If horses are kicking off their Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival campaigns in the race, a good Bobbie Lewis Quality betting tip is to check their first-up record.

Any classy sprinters that contested the previous year’s Bobbie Lewis often make a nice bet if they’re in form and returning for another run in the same spring showdown.

2021 Bobbie Lewis Quality Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Bobbie Lewis Quality 2021 betting tips and exotic Flemington racing selections will be detailed below a couple of days out from the race so you have a guide on the sprinters to back and sack in the spring showdown this season.

Bobbie Lewis Quality Results

The Bobbie Lewis Quality results have been a mixed bag over the past decade with an almost even split between the favourites and roughie hopes.

Notable recent Bobbie Lewis Quality winners include back-to-back winner Zoutori (2019-20), Redkirk Warrior (2017), Chautauqua (2014), Swift Alliance (2009) and dual champion Bon Hoffa (2007-08).

Bobbie Lewis Quality Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Zoutori Banquo Tofane 1:09.2
2019 Zoutori Parsifal Dothraki 1:08.3
2018 Dothraki First Among Equals Kemono 1:09.8
2017 Redkirk Warrior Scales Of Justice Land Of Plenty 1:09.9
2016 Faatinah Tivaci We’ve Got This 1:09.1
2015 Churchill Dancer Under The Louvre Gregers 1:08.8
2014 Chautauqua Temple Of Boom In Cahoots 1:08.1
2013 Speediness Temple Of Boom Albrecht 1:09.4
2012 We’re Gonna Rock Spirit Of Boom Title 1:10.8
2011 Lone Rock Bel Sprinter Danzylum 1:08.8
2010 Doubtful Jack Beltrois About Ready 1:11.4
2009 Swift Alliance Gold Salute Chasm 1:09.9
2008 Bon Hoffa Grand Duels Orange County 1:09.8
2007 Bon Hoffa Swick Flash Trick 1:10.3
2006 Bel Danoro Perfectly Ready Volitant 1:09.6
2005 Wildly Calveen Classiconi 1:09.3
2004 Face Value Via De Lago Scaredee Cat 1:11.0
2003 Titanic Jack Bomber Bill The Big Chill 1:09.8
2002 Chong Tong Rubitano Royal Code 1:10.9
2001 Scenic Peak Calm Smytzer =2 Dash For Cash =2 1:06.7
2000 Ruthless Tycoon Porto Roca Manner Hill 1:12.5