Hobartville Stakes 2021

Saturday February 20, 2021

Ladbrokes Tip: The Hobartville Stakes – Randwick Guineas double is a popular autumn multi.

The Hobartville Stakes is one of three Group races run at Rosehill Gardens during late February as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival action.

The meeting’s major support race sees the two-year-old Golden Slipper Stakes hopes face off in the Group 2 Silver Slipper Stakes (1100m), while the Hobartville Stakes also holds Group 2 status. The set weights race is open only to three-year-olds and is contested over 1400m.

Offering a juicy $400,000 in prize money including $240,000 to the Hobartville Stakes winner, the race is a traditional lead-up to the Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m) run at Sydney’s other premier track two weeks later.

The latest three-year-olds to complete the Hobartville Stakes – Randwick Guineas double are: Dissident (2014), Hallowed Crown (2015), Kementari (2018) and The Autumn Sun (2019).

The next edition of the Hobartville Stakes takes place on Saturday February 20, 2021. 

Hobartville Stakes Race Info

  • Date: Saturday February 20, 2021
  • Track: Rosehill Gardens Racecourse
  • Distance: 1400m
  • Conditions: 3YOs – Set Weights
  • Status: Group 2
  • Prize Money: $400,000
  • First Run: 1925

2021 Hobartville Stakes Results

The official Hobartville Stakes 2021 results and finishing order will be known on Saturday February 20, 2021 and announced in full below.

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

Hobartville Stakes Odds & Betting

Hobartville Stakes odds are traditionally led by in-form three-year-old colts and geldings that performed well in tougher races during the previous spring. Events held the year before including the Caulfield Guineas can be a key guide to the Hobartville Stakes betting markets.

Favourites have a credible record in the race that favours three-year-olds with proven form over 1400m – 1600m and with previous Sydney race experience at this level.

There have been a number of upsets in recent years however including the boilover 2020 win by $41 roughie Brandenburg.

2021 Hobartville Stakes Betting

The updated Hobartville Stakes 2021 betting odds will be released below as soon as markets are out on the Group 2.

Hobartville Stakes Field
Hobartville Stakes odds at Ladbrokes.com.au

Hallowed Crown (2015) completed the Hobartville Stakes – Randwick Guineas double as a three-year-old. Photo Credit: Steve Hart.

The Hobartville Stakes field attracts a line-up of the season’s best three-year-olds showing potential to run out a mile or further leading up to autumn classics like the Randwick Guineas, Rosehill Guineas and ATC Derby.

Often horses kick off their autumn campaigns in the Hobartville Stakes so looking at their records when fresh and how they performed in the spring can be key.

Some of the horses in the Hobartville Stakes field may have had a lead-up run in the Group 3 Eskimo Prince Stakes (1200m) at Rosehill Gardens a fortnight earlier,  which is a popular autumn racing double and a double Kementari (2018) completed.

Hobartville Stakes nominations are taken on the Monday before the race followed by the final acceptances and barrier draw on the Wednesday when betting also opens on the Group 2 feature.

2021 Hobartville Stakes Field

The full Hobartville Stakes 2021 field and barriers will be released on Wednesday February 17, 2021 and published in full below so stay tuned.

2021 Hobartville Stakes Nominations

The official Hobartville Stakes 2021 nominations close on the Monday of race week and will be available below.

Hobartville Stakes Tips

Looking at the spring form the previous season of the horses in the mix is a great Hobartville Stakes betting tip.

Also checking for Group 1 performers, proven Sydney winners and three-year-olds that have run up to a mile can help in sorting the best Hobartville Stakes tips to lock in.

The set weights conditions of the race favour the classiest gallopers in the field, while watching the form of lead-up races like the Eskimo Prince Stakes and Expressway Stakes can prove good Hobartville Stakes betting tips to take to the bookies.

2021 Hobartville Stakes Tips

The insider Ladbrokes’ Hobartville Stakes 2021 tips will be listed right here the week of the race so stay tuned for the three-year-old Randwick Guineas types to back and sack this Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

Hobartville Stakes Form Guide

The Hobartville Stakes has proven a key form guide to follow for tougher Group 1 races during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival in recent years.

2013 Hobartville Stakes winner Pierro went on to win the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes (1500m) before his second in the Group 1 Doncaster Mile (1600m), while both Dissident (2014) and Hallowed Crown (2015) took out the Randwick Guineas for their respective seasons.

The Hobartville Stakes form stacked-up in the Randwick Guineas from 2013 – 2019 with all seven winners of the Group 1 coming off the lead-up.

The latest Hobartville Stakes winner to take out the Randwick Guineas next start was The Autumn Sun in 2019 who also won the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas (2000m).

The colts and geldings also have a far better Hobartville Stakes winning record than the fillies.

2021 Hobartville Stakes Form Guide

A link to our comprehensive Hobartville Stakes 2021 Form Guide will be provided for punters the week of the race.

Hobartville Stakes Results

The Hobartville Stakes results have been dominated by the season’s best three-year-old colts and geldings in recent years.

Some of the most notable recent Hobartville Stakes winners include The Autumn Sun (2019), Dissident (2014), Pierro (2013) and Racing To Win (2006).

Recent Hobartville Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Brandenburg Reloaded Microphone 1:25.30
2019 The Autumn Sun Vegadaze Bondi 1:24.64
2018 Kementari Pierata D’Argento 1:22.43
2017 Man From Uncle Echo Effect Comin’ Through 1:24.11
2016 Press Statement Le Romain Montaigne 1:22.5
2015 Hallowed Crown Sweynesse Kermadec 1:23.7
2014 Dissident Atlante Savvy Nature 1:25.0
2013 Pierro Rebel Dane Proisir 1:24.7
2012 Wild And Proud Manawanui Moment Of Change 1:26.5
2011 Ilovethiscity Retrieve Skilled 1:22.5
2010 Monton Shoot Out Captain Sonador 1:22.9
2009 Mic Mac Caymans Desuetude 1:22.9
2008 Serious Speed Murtajill Turffontein 1:23.4
2007 Mutawaajid Gold Edition Upper Echelon 1:23.3
2006 Racing To Win De Beers Flying Pegasus 1:22.9
2005 Outback Prince Eremein Dance Hero 1:21.9
2004 Impaler Allgunnadoit Handsome Ransom 1:23.8
2003 Thorn Park Hydrometer Shower Of Roses 1:22.5
2002 Lonhro Athens Moonflute 1:23.6
2001 Sir Clive Debrief Fouardee 1:26.4
2000 Fairway Over Condotti 1:28.3