EPL 2016/17

The English Premier League (EPL) is a professional-soccer (football) competition that takes place as England’s top flight football season and is popular with sports fans and punters right around the globe with the highest worldwide audience of any league.

There are 20 Premier League clubs in the competition every season, which runs from August to May each year. The teams are confirmed by the EPL Ladder rankings from the past season, as well as those from England’s second tier competition the Football League Championship.

EPL Betting: Matchweek 34 Preview

The EPL season is very close to its stretch and Tottenham Spurs have closed the gap to would-be champions Chelsea – just 4 points now seperate the two London Clubs. Week 34’s highlight is undoubtedly the Manchester Derby to round it offbut the weekend will be heavily dominated by two FA Cup Semi Finals.

  • Round:34
  • Starts: Sunday April 23, 2017
  • Ends: Friday April 28, 2017
  • No. of Games: 10
  • Round Highlight: Manchester City vs Manchester United
  • Round Tip: Arsenal vs Leicester to go over 2.5 goals

The Teams for the 2016/17 Premier League season are:

  • AFC Bournemouth
  • Arsenal
  • Burnley
  • Chelsea
  • Crystal Palace
  • Everton
  • Hull City
  • Leicester City
  • Liverpool
  • Manchester City
  • Manchester United
  • Middlesbrough
  • Southampton
  • Stoke City
  • Sunderland
  • Swansea City
  • Tottenham Hotspur
  • Watford
  • West Bromwich Albion
  • West Ham United
EPL Championship betting

Leicester City are the reigning EPL champions for their 2015/16 season win. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

The three teams ranked lowest on the Premier League table are relegated into the Football League Championship at the end of the season, while the top two clubs from the Championship along with the winner of the Championship Playoffs between the third – sixth ranked clubs are promoted in their place to the EPL for the next season.

The EPL season consists of a total of 380 matches each season, each Premier League team playing 38 games throughout as they vie for the coveted title awarded to the club that sits top of the table at the end of the 38 weeks of play. Each club plays the other teams in the League twice, getting home stadium advantage once and playing an away game once, with each win worth three points and a single point awarded for a draw.

As the most-watched football league in the world, the Premier League is hugely popular in Australia and there are plenty of EPL betting markets open at Ladbrokes every season including head-to-head markets each and every round as well as futures odds on offer for each team to be crowned champions. Manchester United boast the most number of titles with 13, while the 2015-16 EPL Champions Leicester City scored their first title in their history after starting the season as $5000 outsiders!

EPL 2016/17 Season

The 2016/17 EPL season is the 25th season of the top level English professional soccer competition and rebranding means there is no sponsor’s name attached to the competition. As is tradition, 20 EPL Teams are fighting for the Championship title. The season started on August 13, 2016 and will continue through until May 21, 2017.

The football clubs that finished 1 – 17 on the previous season’s EPL Ladder are joined by three teams promoted from the Championship: Burnley, Middlesbrough and the winners of the Championship play-off Hull City. Those three clubs come in in place of Newcastle United, Norwich City and Aston Villa.

Leicester City are the defending EPL champions looking to go back-to-back for the first time since Manchester United scored three straight championships in 2006-7, 2007-08 and 2008-09.

2016/17 – Barclays Premier League Betting

Outright EPL betting is now open for the Barclays Premier League Winner 2016/17. EPL Ladder leaders Chelsea are hot favourites to take out the title for a sixth time and first since 2014/15. As of January 15, 2017 Chelsea’s Diego Costa is the equal top scoring player with 14 goals.