Queensland Derby 2017

Saturday June 10, 2017

Ladbrokes Tip: The Grand Prix Stakes – Queensland Derby double is a popular betting option during the winter carnival

The Queensland Derby is a Group 1 race for three-year-old stayers run at Eagle Farm Racecourse on Stradbroke Handicap Day during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival. Conducted on a Saturday in early – mid June, the set weights clash is one of three Group 1 features at the meeting along with the JJ Atkins for the two-year-olds and the $1.5 million Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m), which is Queensland’s richest race.

Colts and geldings carrying 57kg and fillies 55kg in the Queensland Derby field over 2400m. The race offers $600,000 in total prize money including $384,000 for the winning connections.

A number of lead-up races offer a ballot exemption to the winner into the Queensland Derby including the NZ Derby and Auckland Racing Club Championships Stakes in New Zealand. Back home the winner/s of the Rough Habit Plate, Grand Prix Stakes and the Queensland Oaks for the fillies are also all exempt from Queensland Derby ballot. Of these the key lead-up historically is the Group 3 Grand Prix Stakes (2200m) and the last horse to complete the double was Hawkspur (2013).

The next edition of the Queensland Derby runs on Saturday June 10, 2017 .

Queensland Derby Race Info

  • Date: Saturday June 10, 2017
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse
  • Distance: 2400m
  • Conditions: 3YOs – Set Weights
  • Status: Group 1
  • Prize Money: $600,000
  • First Run: 1868

Queensland Derby Odds

Queensland Derby betting opens at pre-field prices weeks ahead of the race date offering juicy futures odds on the likely runners in the race.

Three-year-olds that run well in the traditional lead-up races typically dominate the Queensland Derby odds, and more often than not the Grand Prix Stakes winner of the season will start favourite in the Group 1 over the mile and a half.

Favourites have a fair record in the Queensland Derby with three saluting for the punters from 2011-2013, but there is often value further down the markets.

2017 Queensland Derby Betting

The winter’s latest Queensland Derby 2017 betting odds will be available here as soon as released so stay tuned to check the QLD Derby odds on your favourite staying three-year-olds of the season.

Queensland Derby Field

The Queensland Derby field attracts a collection of the season’s most promising staying types. The majority of acceptors are colts and geldings, but fillies sometimes back up out of the Queensland Oaks the weekend prior to take on the boys. The last filly to win the Queensland Derby was Dariana (2010).

The largest Queensland Derby field had a previous capacity of 20 runners, the last of this size field lining up in 2008 when Riva San won. Now a maximum of 18 starters can take to the track. The smallest Queensland Derby field in recent history saw only eight runners take to the barriers in 1990 when Rough Habit won. Queensland Derby nominations close in early May, four – five weeks before the final field of acceptances is taken and released the Wednesday prior to the race running on the Saturday.

2017 Queensland Derby Field

Queensland Derby betting odds at Ladbrokes.com.au

Hawkspur (2013) was the last favourite in Queensland Derby betting to salute for the punters at Eagle Farm. Photo Credit: Daniel Costello.

The official Queensland Derby 2017 Field & Barriers are set for release on Wednesday June 7, 2017 and will be listed in full below so bookmark this page to see what three-year-old winter stayers make the line-up on Stradbroke Handicap Day.

Queensland Derby Tips

Looking for horses that ran top three in a race like the Grand Prix Stakes and keeping an eye on the prices of runners with proven form over at least 2000m are good Queensland Derby tips.

From 2006 – 2017 five of the Queensland Derby winners won their lead-up race, so a good tip is looking for a last start winner. Brisbane lead-up races have provided the majority of the Queensland Derby champions in the past 30 years, so another tip is to watch for horses proven at either Doomben or Eagle Farm Racecourse.

2017 Queensland Derby Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ insider Queensland Derby 2017 tips and betting selections on the youngsters to back and sack in the mile and a half classic will be detailed below the week of the race so check back to uncover the value in the Group 1 showdown this season.

Queensland Derby Form Guide

The Queensland Derby form guide provides punters with all of the must know information like the jockeys, trainers, barriers and lead-up runs of the horses in the field. From 2011 – 2016 four of the six Queensland Derby winners jumped from a double digit barrier, the distance of the race proving a wide gate is a non-issue results wise.

Interstate-trained three-year-olds also have a dominant recent record in the race, so watch the Queensland Derby form guide for Sydney and Melbourne visitors with form in Brisbane that season.

2017 Queensland Derby Form Facts

  • Wide barriers 10 or above produced four of the six Queensland Derby winners from 2011 – 2016
  • Dariana (2010) was the last filly to beat home the boys in the Queensland Derby results
  • From 2011 – 2016 three of the six Queensland Derby betting favourites saluted for the punters
  • The Grand Prix Stakes is the key Queensland Derby form race to follow and last produced a winner of the Group 1 with Eagle Way (2nd) in 2016

Queensland Derby Results

Single-figure runners have dominated the Queensland Derby results over the past three decades, but recent winners to jump at over $10 for the win include Sonntag (2014) and Magicool (2015) who both saluted at 12/1 prices.

Notable recent Queensland Derby winners include Hawkspur (2013), Brambles (2012) and Shootoff (2011).

Queensland Derby 2017 Results

The official 2017 Queensland Derby Results & Finishing Order will be available below once the race takes place on Saturday June 10, 2017 .

Queensland Derby Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2016 Eagle Way Rodrico I’m Belucci 2:32.8
2015 Magicool Werther Jumbo Prince 2:15.0
2014 Sonntag Pinstripe Lane Vilanova 2:28.3
2013 Hawkspur Electric Fusion Honorius 2:27.8
2012 Brambles Quintessential Westsouthwest 2:29.7
2011 Shootoff Shez Sinsational Heidilicious 2:28.7
2010 Dariana Kutchinsky Miss Keepsake 2:26.4
2009 Court Ruler Shocking Larry’s Never Late 2:34.4
2008 Riva San Petushki Moatize 2:36.9
2007 Empires Choice Volcanic Star Sirmione 2:32.9
2006 Ice Chariot Cape Breton Loanhead 2:30.6
2005 Lachlan River Lords A Leaping Vitesse Dane 2:26.5
2004 Toulouse Lautrec Devastating Set Up 2:26.5
2003 Half Hennessy Schumpeter King Of Them All 2:27.7
2002 County Tyrone Galroof Miss Bussell 2:29.0
2001 De Gaulle Lane Tempest Morn Lottery Prize 2:25.2
2000 Freemason Citras Prince Maguire 2:27.3