EPL 2020/21

The 2020-21 Premier League season saw Manchester City secure their fifth premiership title. 

The English Premier League (EPL) is a professional-soccer (football) competition that takes place as England’s top flight football season and is popular with sports fans and punters right around the globe with the highest worldwide audience of any league.

There are 20 Premier League clubs in the competition every season, which runs from August to May each year. The teams are confirmed by the EPL Ladder rankings from the past season, as well as those from England’s second-tier competition the Football League Championship.

2020-21 EPL Season: Manchester City Win 5th Title

The 2020-21 Premier League season is done and dusted, the form team of the competition Manchester City coming away with their fifth premiership title. It was their seventh overall English title, third in four years, and they did it with three matches to spare. 

Fulham, West Bromwich Albion and Sheffield United were all relegated finishing at the tail-end of the table. 

Along with Man City, the other teams qualifying for the Champions League group stage were: Manchester United, Liverpool and Chelsea. 

  • 2021 EPL Champions: Manchester City (5th title). 
  • Relegated Clubs: Fulham, West Bromwich Albion and Sheffield United. 
  • Champions League Qualified Clubs: Manchester City, Manchester United, Liverpool and Chelsea. 

2020/21 EPL SEASON

  • Season: 29th
  • Start Date: September 12, 2020 (AEST)
  • Premier League Champions: Manchester City (2020-21)

The 2020/21 EPL season was the 29th season of the Premier League competition.

The season kicked off on September 12, 2020 after only a month’s off-season.

The defending Premier League champions were Liverpool who secured the 2019-20 Premier League championship, their first Premier League title success and 19th English title win.

The relegated teams from the previous season that will not play in the 2020/21 Premier League tournament are: Bournemouth, Watford and Norwich City.

The promoted clubs appearing in the 2020/21 Premier League competition are: Leeds United, West Bromwich Albion and Fulham.

The 2020/21 Premier League Teams:

  • Arsenal
  • Aston Villa
  • Brighton & Hove Albion
  • Burnley
  • Chelsea
  • Crystal Palace
  • Everton
  • Fulham
  • Leeds United (Promoted)
  • Leicester City
  • Liverpool
  • Manchester City
  • Manchester United
  • Newcastle United
  • Southampton
  • Sheffield United
  • Tottenham Hotspur
  • West Bromwich Albion
  • West Ham United
  • Wolverhampton Wanderers
EPL Championship betting

Leicester City historically became EPL champions for their 2015/16 season win. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

The three teams ranked lowest on the Premier League table are relegated into the Football League Championship at the end of the season, while the top two clubs from the Championship along with the winner of the Championship Playoffs between the third – sixth ranked clubs are promoted in their place to the EPL for the next season.

The EPL season consists of a total of 380 matches each season, each Premier League team playing 38 games throughout as they vie for the coveted title awarded to the club that sits top of the table at the end of the 38 weeks of play. Each club plays the other teams in the League twice, getting home stadium advantage once and playing an away game once, with each win worth three points and a single point awarded for a draw.

As the most-watched football league in the world, the Premier League is hugely popular in Australia and there are plenty of EPL betting markets open at Ladbrokes every season including head-to-head markets each and every round as well as futures odds on offer for each team to be crowned champions. Manchester United boast the most number of titles with 13, while the 2015-16 EPL Champions Leicester City scored their first title in their history after starting the season as $5000 outsiders!