Furious Stakes 2019

Saturday September 7, 2019

Ladbrokes Tip: The Furious Stakes – Flight Stakes double is popular with punters each spring

The Furious Stakes is a Group 2 race for three-year-old fillies held on Chelmsford Stakes Day at Randwick Racecourse in early September during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. There are three Group 2 races held at the meeting in total with the Furious Stakes joined by the Chelmsford Stakes (1600m) for George Main Stakes hopes and the Tramway Handicap (1400m).

Offering $200,000 in total prize money, the Furious Stakes is run over 1200m at set weights and is part of the Princess Series. The opening leg of the 3YO Fillies’ Princess Series is the Silver Shadow Stakes in August followed by the Furious Stakes, Tea Rose Stakes and finally the Group 1 Flight Stakes (1600m) on Epsom Handicap Day in October.

The Furious Stakes – Flight Stakes double has been achieved most recently by Speak Fondly (2015), Streama (2011) and Samantha Miss (2008).

The latest edition of the Furious Stakes took place on Saturday September 7, 2019 and was won by the odds-on favourite Libertini.

2019 Furious Stakes Results

Be sure to bookmark this page as we post all of the results from the 2018 Furious Stakes right here.

2019 Furious Stakes Results

  • 1st: #1 Libertini
  • 2nd: #4 Villami
  • 3rd: #5 Let It Pour

The odds-on favourite Libertini was backed like the only filly in the race but in the end the official Furious Stakes 2019 Results were narrow. She only just ran down the brave front-runner Villami – who didn’t give up the lead without a fight – to salute and complete the Silver Shadow – Furious Stakes double.

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 2 LIBERTINI Anthony Cummings Tommy Berry 3 56kg $1.18F
2 4 VILLAMI Gerald Ryan Tim Clark 0.2L 5 56kg $16
3 5 LET IT POUR Bjorn Baker Brenton Avdulla 1.5L 4 56kg $19
4 3 PROBABEEL (NZ) Jamie Richards James McDonald 1.6L 1 56kg $19
5 1 KIAMICHI James Cummings Hugh Bowman 7.8L 7 56kg $15
6 6 DARLING POINT Brad Widdup Nash Rawiller 10L 6 56kg $26
7 7 BRIGHT RUBICK Bjorn Baker Glen Boss 10.4L 2 56kg $91

Furious Stakes Race Info

  • Date: Saturday September 7, 2019
  • Track: Royal Randwick Racecourse
  • Distance: 1200m
  • Conditions: 3YO Fillies – Set Weights
  • Status: Group 2
  • Prize Money: $200,000
  • First Run: 1986

Furious Stakes Betting

The Silver Shadow Stakes has produced more Furious Stakes winners than any other race so is the form-line to follow into the second leg of the Princess Series.

Locally-trained Sydney fillies, those proven over 1400m and top performers the previous season as two-year-olds also feature prominently in Furious Stakes betting.

2019 Furious Stakes Odds

The season’s top Furious Stakes odds will be available right here as soon as betting on the Flight Stakes lead-up opens.

Furious Stakes Field

The Furious Stakes field features the season’s best middle-distance three-year-old fillies. The majority of the runners in the field come off an earlier run at Royal Randwick in the Group 2 Silver Shadow Stakes (1200m).

Speak Fondly (2015) and Formality (2017) are the most recent fillies to complete the Silver Shadow Stakes – Furious Stakes double. Speak Fondly also went on to run second in the Group 1 Golden Rose (1400m) next start before also winning the Flight Stakes that spring.

Most fillies coming out of the Furious Stakes field go onto run in the Group 2 Tea Rose Stakes (1400m) back at Randwick a fortnight later. In 2014 Winx won the Furious Stakes before seconds in the Tea Rose Stakes and Flight Stakes, that double achieved by First Seal. The year before, the 2013 Furious Stakes winner Bound For Earth finished third in the Tea Rose and Flight Stakes.

More recently, Foxplay (2016) completed the Furious Stakes – Tea Rose Stakes double.

Other recent Furious Stakes winners to place in the Flight Stakes include Dear Demi (3rd in 2012), Streama (1st in 2011) and More Strawberries (2nd in 2010).Furious Stakes nominations close on the Monday before the race with the field and barrier draw out on the Wednesday.

2019 Furious Stakes Field

The official Furious Stakes 2019 Final Field & Barriers are released by Racing NSW the Wednesday leading-up to Chelmsford Stakes Day, the full line-up to be published below.

The 2019 Furious Stakes Field attracted just 7 fillies with Anthony Cummings’ speedy Silver Shadow Stakes winner Libertini odds-on favourite to win.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp. Rating
1 12x41130x0 KIAMICHI James Cummings Hugh Bowman 7 56kg 102
2 211×1 LIBERTINI Anthony Cummings Tommy Berry 3 56kg 90
3 211165x PROBABEEL (NZ) Jamie Richards James McDonald 1 56kg 88
4 183×4 VILLAMI Gerald Ryan Tim Clark 5 56kg 78
5 3×23 LET IT POUR Bjorn Baker Brenton Avdulla 4 56kg
6 2×1 DARLING POINT Brad Widdup Nash Rawiller 6 56kg 62
7 28x BRIGHT RUBICK Bjorn Baker Glen Boss 2 56kg

Furious Stakes Tips

Looking for fillies coming off a top three run in the Silver Shadow Stakes, youngsters looking like they’ll handle a mile (1600m), proven performers at the Randwick track and those in the top half of betting are all good Furious Stakes tips to take.

Furious Stakes Form Guide

For all the information needed to place a bet on the Furious Stakes, the form guide is what to consult as it lists everything from the jockeys and trainers to the lead-up form of the fillies in the race.

Look for fillies coming off a run in the Silver Shadow Stakes on the Furious Stakes form guide and for those that performed well in tougher races as a two-year-old like the Golden Slipper during the autumn.

The Furious Stakes form more often than not stacks up in the subsequent Tea Rose Stakes and Flight Stakes. It has also provided a number of Group 1 Thousand Guineas (1600m) performers in recent years. In 2009 Furious Stakes winner Melito ran second in the Melbourne mile clash later that campaign as did Dear Demi in 2012.

2019 Furious Stakes Form Guide

A link to our insider Furious Stakes 2019 Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

Furious Stakes Results

The Furious Stakes results have been dominated by Silver Shadow Stakes graduates in the past decade. Notable recent Furious Stakes winners include Speak Fondly (2015), Winx (2014) who went on to win the next year’s Cox Plate, Streama (2011) and Samantha Miss (2008).

Furious Stakes Winners

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Libertini Villami Let It Pour 1:09.22
2018 Pure Elation Fiesta Pretty In Pink 1:09:1
2017 Formality Champagne Cuddles I Am Excited 1:09.9
2016 Foxplay Bacarella Global Glamour 1:12.5
2015 Speak Fondly Perignon Ottoman 1:10.6
2014 Winx Alpha Miss Earthquake 1:11.9
2013 Bound For Earth Guelph Thump 1:09.0
2012 Dear Demi Meidung Jade Marauder 1:22.9
2011 Streama Florentina Detours 1:25.0
2010 More Strawberries Divorces Parables 1:27.0
2009 Melito Hurtle Myrtle Lovemelikearock 1:21.5
2008 Samantha Miss Love and Kisses Portillo 1:26.2
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Just Dancing My Lady’s Chamber Gallant Tess 1:26.6
2005 Mnemosyne Media Permissive 1:22.6
2004 Prisoner of Love Wager Our Sweet Moss 1:23.1
2003 Shamekha Regimental Gal Spurcent 1:22.4
2002 Victory Vein Royal Purler Lavishly 1:24.2
2001 Moonflute Hosannah Ha Ha 1:25.1
2000 Unworldly Money Begets Money Preserve 1:22.6