Gloaming Stakes 2021

Saturday September 25th, 2021

Ladbrokes Tip: The Gloaming Stakes winner may press onto the Spring Champion Stakes

The Gloaming Stakes is a Group 3 set weights race for three-year-olds run at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse on a Saturday in late September during the annual Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

Contested at the same meeting as the $1 million Group 1 Golden Rose Stakes (1400m) and the $400,000 Group 2 Golden Pendant (1400m),  the race is contested over 1800m and offers $200,000 in total prize money. There’s a number of other Group status races on the program including the Group 3 Colin Stephen Quality (2400m) for The Metropolitan-bound stayers.

Graduates may go on to run in tougher Sydney and Melbourne races over the spring carnival and the Gloaming Stakes winner is exempt from ballot for the Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes (2000m).

Shadow Hero (2019) was the last horse to complete the Gloaming Stakes – Spring Champion Stakes double.

The Gloaming Stakes was first run in 1978 and is named after star galloper Gloaming who won 19 straight races, a then Australasian racing record he co-held with Desert Gold.

There’s also a potential for the Gloaming Stakes graduates to take on the older horses in the iconic Group 1 Cox Plate (2040m) run at Moonee Valley in October. In 2009 So You Think completed the Gloaming Stakes – Cox Plate double as a three-year-old and returned as a four-year-old in 2010 to claim his second Cox Plate trophy.

The next edition of the Gloaming Stakes takes place on Saturday September 25th, 2021. 

2021 Gloaming Stakes Results

The full Gloaming Stakes 2021 race results and finishing order will be provided below as soon as the race is run and won on Saturday September 25th, 2021.

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

Gloaming Stakes Race Info

  • Date: Saturday September 25th, 2021
  • Track: Rosehill Gardens
  • Distance: 1800m
  • Conditions: Set Weights – Three-year-olds
  • Status: Group 3
  • Prize Money: $200,000
  • First Run: 1978

Gloaming Stakes Odds

Gloaming Stakes betting favours local Sydney-trained three-year-olds coming off good lead-up runs in similar races.

Any fillies opting to take on the colts and geldings in the event are usually at big Gloaming Stakes odds with the sole filly to win the race being  Constant Flight (1993).

Shadow Hero ($2.90 in 2019) and Love Tap ($1.70 in 2020) are the latest favourites in Gloaming Stakes betting to win.

2021 Gloaming Stakes Betting

The season’s top Gloaming Stakes 2021 odds and Group 3 betting links to our Golden Rose Day markets will be provided below as soon as open.

Gloaming Stakes Field

Gloaming Stakes Winners Ace High. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos |
2017 Gloaming Stakes winner Ace High. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

The Gloaming Stakes field attracts a quality line-up of three-year-old staying types with Group 1 ambitions.

Gloaming Stakes nominations close the Monday before the race runs on the Saturday with the field and barrier draw announced on the Wednesday.

2021 Gloaming Stakes Field

The official Gloaming Stakes 2021 Final Field & Barrier Draw will be published in full below the Wednesday leading-up to Golden Rose Stakes Day so stay tuned to see what gallopers line-up in the Group 3 feature.

2021 Gloaming Stakes Nominations

The Gloaming Stakes 2021 Nominations are announced by Racing NSW the Monday of race week and will be published below once announced.

Gloaming Stakes Tips

Good Gloaming Stakes betting tips include backing Sydney-trained three-year-olds with previous winning form and those at single-figures in the markets as the favourites have a strong recent record in the event.

2021 Gloaming Stakes Tips

Our Ladbrokes’ exclusive Gloaming Stakes 2021 betting tips and exotic Rosehill selections on the Spring Champion Stakes ballot exemption-offering event will be detailed below the week of the race.

Gloaming Stakes Form Guide

The Gloaming Stakes form guide details to punters all the facts and stats from the jockeys, trainers and barriers, to the horse’s records over the track / distance and their lead-up runs.

The Gloaming Stakes form has stacked-up in bigger three-year-old features over the spring including both the Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes (2000m) and Melbourne’s Group 1 Victoria Derby (2500m) held at Flemington.

In 2017 Ace High completed the Gloaming Stakes – Spring Champion Stakes – VRC Derby treble.

2021 Gloaming Stakes Form Guide

A link to our detailed Gloaming Stakes 2021 Form Guide will be provided for punters below the week of the race.

Gloaming Stakes Results

The Gloaming Stakes results have been dominated by single-figure runners.

Some of the notable Gloaming Stakes winners throughout history include Kingston Town (1979) who went on to win three Cox Plates during his career, Tie The Knot (1997), dual Cox Plate champion So You Think (2009), It’s A Dundeel (2012), Ace High (2017) and Shadow Hero (2019).

Gloaming Stakes Winners

2020Love TapRichard & Michael FreedmanNash Rawiller56.5 kgs1:49.89
2019Shadow HeroMark NewnhamJoshua Parr56.5 kgs1:49.10
2018Thinkin’ BigGai Waterhouse & Adrian BottTim Clark56.5 kgs1:50.28
2017Ace HighDavid PayneTye Angland56.5 kgs1:50.82
2016VeladeroChris WallerRory Hutchings56.5 kgs1:50.24
2015VanbrughChris WallerHugh Bowman56.5 kgs1:49.60
2014SweynesseJohn O’SheaKerrin McEvoy56.5 kgs1:49.48
2013ComplacentPeter SnowdenKerrin McEvoy56.5 kgs1:49.16
2012DundeelMurray BakerJames McDonald56.5 kgs1:50.56
2011Strike The StarsAnthony CummingsHugh Bowman56.5 kgs1:49.07
2010RetrievePeter SnowdenJoshua Parr56.5 kgs1:48.28
2009So You ThinkBart CummingsHugh Bowman56.5 kgs1:50.86
2008Predatory PricerPaul MurrayGlyn Schofield56.5 kgs1:51.95
2006All Black GoldChris WallerJay Ford55.5 kgs1:49.15
2005PendragonBart CummingsHugh Bowman55.5 kgs1:50.41
2004Al MaherGai WaterhouseJim Cassidy55.5 kgs1:49.33
2003TsuimaiJack DenhamZac Purton55.5 kgs1:49.59
2002MaskeradoGraeme RogersonCorey Brown55.5 kgs1:57.04
2001CourvoisierGraeme RogersonGlen Boss55.5 kgs1:49.67
2000Go BintNeville McBurneyDarryl McLellan55.5 kgs1:59.43